Faux Pas Friday Guest Post: Newcomer’s Follies

Greetings from snowy Vermont! I hope you all are having a lovely holiday season. I’m just starting the intense residency at Vermont College of Fine Arts (if anyone wants to follow along with just how intense, here’s the daily schedule.)

As I won’t have a lot of time to update the blog, I’m delighted to have a guest today. You may remember I interviewed Aurelia d’Andrea when her Moon Living Abroad in France guidebook was published. When I noticed Aurelia making funny comments on Facebook about her faux pas one day I said, tiens! Why don’t I invite her to contribute to Faux Pas Friday? I’m glad she accepted the invitation! And so, without further ado…

“Newcomer’s Follies” by Aurelia d’Andrea

triumph statueIf faux pas were an Olympic sport, I would be a gold medalist. The main difference between me and a true Olympian, though, is that I don’t have to train for my sport. Being a Socially Inept Expat just comes naturally, without even the slightest modicum of effort.

Since moving to Paris two-and-a-half years ago, this innate “gift” has flowered like an out-of-control weed. France, it seems, offers nearly ideal conditions for social awkwardness to flourish. I would’ve liked to have nipped this problem in the bud, but it’s too late for that now, and how do you nip when you don’t even know where to begin?

Some of my transgressions are textbook new-kid-in-town maneuvers; smiling in public, for example, and vouvoyer-ing children and dogs. I do this every day. So why, then, did I use the informal tutoyer to greet my building’s gardienne last week? (She insisted it was no big deal, but the way she crams the mail under the door now indicates otherwise.)Aurelia's mail

Many other missteps I’ve made are of the “French insider-knowledge” variety.  I mean, how could I possibly know that my stomach growling loudly in public is an act as unpardonable as audibly passing gas in a quiet roomful of strangers? Or that wearing sunglasses on a cloudy day or after 3pm is considered “bizarre”? Along with verb conjugation and grammar, every French course should offer, at the very least, a brief lesson titled something like “Avoiding Self-Humiliation in L’Hexagone.” I’m nearly qualified to teach this class!

Possibly the most profound mistake I’ve made is the one I’m reminded of every day, since it happened just downstairs at the little halal butcher shop/greengrocer’s below my apartment. The week we moved in coincided with the start of Ramadan, the Muslim month of fasting, and I popped into the store one night just as the owner and his staff were about to break bread.

“Here, a little savory treat for you,” said the man behind the corner, passing me a triangle of deep-fried pastry stuffed with something indiscernible but vaguely meaty-smelling.  “It’s our tradition to share food at Ramadan.”

Merci! C’est tres gentil!” I replied earnestly, hoping he’d hurry and ring up my tomatoes so I could get out of there before things got awkward. As a vegetarian, I dread moments like these; how do you say “No, thank you” without offending? I didn’t even want to attempt it in a language I hadn’t yet mastered.

halal

“Well, go on, try it!” he said.

Oh, no.

“I’m so, so sorry,” I mumbled in fractured French, “but I’m vegetarian. I’d love to accept your gift, however. I’ll  take it upstairs and give it to my husband!”

By “husband,” I meant “dog.” My husband is vegetarian, too.

“There’s no meat inside, just chicken,” he responded cheerfully. “Here, look,” he said, pointing to something indiscernible printed on a package pulled from the refrigerator. “See? It’s kosher. Don’t worry!”

“Oh, I’m not vegetarian for religious reasons,” came my defensive reply. “It’s purely ethical!”

The conversation was beginning to get unwieldy and uncomfortable. The kind man who’d reached out with a neighborly gesture was now extending his hand to take it back. Waves of shame and anxiety washed over me as I hurried out the door in a flurry of mercis and desolées.

tourNearly three years later, the marchand downstairs still greets me with a warm bonjour each time we meet, with nary the faintest hint of a lingering grudge.  I’ve even noticed my gardienne has gotten back into the groove of gently sliding the mail under the door. Which makes me wonder: Could it be that my faux pas are really just my own baggage, lugged across continents and unpacked here in my adopted hometown?  Are these missteps really just baby steps on my journey toward an exciting new life?

I haven’t quite figured it out yet, but there’s one thing I know for sure: I’m definitely never going to be an Olympic gold medalist in any category. But in this tricky game called Life in France, I feel lucky to be a player.

Aurelia d'Andrea (photo by Sophia Pagan)

Aurelia d’Andrea (photo by Sophia Pagan)

Thanks, Aurelia!

Aurelia d’Andrea is a freelance writer and former managing editor of VegNews. She is the author of Moon Living Abroad in France (Avalon Travel, 2012) and the forthcoming Moon Metro Paris (Avalon Travel, 2013). She chronicles some of her less awkward Parisian moments at My Vegan Parisian Adventure.

8 Responses to “Faux Pas Friday Guest Post: Newcomer’s Follies”


  1. 1 Karin P December 28, 2012 at 5:57 pm

    Lovely post, and how fantastic to see Aurelia and her writing here — what a great pic of her. I love her so much. 🙂 Okay, and seriously?!? “I mean, how could I possibly know that my stomach growling loudly in public is an act as unpardonable as audibly passing gas in a quiet roomful of strangers?”

    Whoops. LOL. Now I am blushing at the time that happened, and I had no idea. *giggle* Oh dear!

    Sion — I hope that Vermont is going all right. Aurelia — thank you for doing this. I love reading what you have to say, and your voice shines through each word.

    xx
    Karin

    Like

    • 2 aureliad December 29, 2012 at 11:44 am

      Hi, dear Karin! Did you ever read “French or Foe”? I think maybe Polly Platt should add a chapter in the next edition that explains the more obscure French social transgressions unassuming expats are prone to make. That now makes two of us who could have benefited from the stomach-growling insight!

      Like

      • 3 Karin P December 29, 2012 at 11:02 pm

        Hey Aurelia! I read parts of that book, but I guess I missed the part about growling tummies, lol.

        Did you know Polly Platt passed away in 2011? So sad. I don’t think there will be a next edition, as a result. 😦

        But, it does leave room open for someone to write an updated version of the same sort of information at this point.

        (I was checking for the date when she died online, and saw she had been married to Peter Bogdanovich for a time! 1961-1972. I had NO idea!!)

        Like

  2. 4 BethPM December 28, 2012 at 7:51 pm

    You are entirely too hard on yourself – another faux pas! But I am the same, second guessing each comment I’ve made over the last 45 years.
    I was thinking about releasing some awkward conversations from the 80s for my new year resolution… by the time I’m 80 I may have forgiven myself for most indiscretions. And by the time I’m 80, I just wont’ care any more (I fervently hope!)

    Like

    • 5 aureliad December 29, 2012 at 11:51 am

      Hi, Beth! Maybe there’s some sort of non-denominational sort of “confession” type thing for those among us who wish to purge the regrettable details of our past transgressions. If such a thing exists, we can go together! (And maybe it’s called “the cafe” and the person you “confess” to is your group of friends! Wouldn’t that be nice?)

      Like

  3. 6 FrenchtwistDC December 30, 2012 at 12:24 am

    A friend of mine did that program… She did one of their residency in Slovenia too… Bets of luck!

    Like

    • 7 paris (im)perfect December 30, 2012 at 5:05 am

      I graduated from Vermont College in 2011. I LOVE the program! Obviously couldn’t get enough which is why I’ve returned as a graduate assistant. Helping out with this residency and helping to get the new students acclimated. Never did get to do the Slovenia residency (and there’s one in Puerto Rico now, too!), but people love that option, too.

      Like

  4. 8 curiousprovence November 21, 2015 at 11:53 am

    Great post! I also wonder that perhaps I’m over-thinking my faux-pas episodes. The vousvoyer et tutoyer is always difficult though!

    Like


Leave a comment




paris (im)perfect?

Sion Dayson is paris (im)perfect. Writer, dreamer, I moved to France on – no exaggerating – a romantic whim. As you can imagine, a lot can go wrong (and very right!) with such a (non)plan. These are the (im)perfect stories that result.

Share the love!

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,994 other subscribers
Follow siondayson on Twitter


easyJet Holidays Paris City Break
Expat Blog website
Expat Women website
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker
Worldette – Ignite your travel life, make a difference, have fun!
© 2010-18 Copyright Sion Dayson ALL RIGHTS RESERVED