Indian Summer

Listening to Aretha Franklin and American soul music while we wait for the movie (Respect!)

You might have noticed a theme on my (and other Paris) blogs: summer sucked.

Or, to put it less harshly, summer didn’t really seem to make much of an appearance in the City of Light.

However, we now seem to be experiencing something of an Indian summer. For the past several days I wake up, open my curtain and exclaim: sun! blue skies! wow, really?! (I so don’t want to jinx this lucky run of weather).

Setting up the old black and white film projector

Gone is the ghost town of August when the entire city emptied out for holiday-making elsewhere. I think those people are crazy because imagine this: you get the most beautiful city in the world all to yourself when you stay!

But now everyone is back; it is the rentree. Frankly, the frantic energy and returning crowds are stressing me out after such a relaxed month. Imagine back-to-school fever, but on speed.

So, this wonderful weather couldn’t have come at a better time to help me recapture a bit of the relaxed vibe. Summer in September? I’ll take it.

I was delighted to see that Hitchcock’s “Notorious” was playing in a neighborhood park on Friday. (You might remember I adore Hitchcock).

Aside from a very rowdy group of teenagers – I guess there are unruly skater kids everywhere – it was a perfect evening. Cary Grant. Ingrid Bergman. Stars. Clear skies.

They even piped in Aretha Franklin and a bunch of American soul music while we waited. Hearing French people sing along to “Take a load off Fanny” has to be a personal highlight.

Clinging to the last gasp of summer, I’m thankful for every minute.

Notorious on the Big Screen. (I want to live in a black and white movie).

Bookmark and Share

12 Responses to “Indian Summer”


  1. 1 Buffy September 6, 2010 at 1:24 am

    I agree with your last comment. Life seemed so romantic in those old black and whites. I was in Paris in July. It was wonderful there, what I was able to see of it. Enjoy your Indian Summer in Sept.

    Like

    • 4 paris (im)perfect September 6, 2010 at 10:12 am

      I know! This is awful! I posted late last night – and then I wake up and hear rain this morning! Sigh. Well, I take comfort in the fact that my words are strong enough to change the weather. I have the power to jinx it! (I’d like to use this power for good, though).

      Like

  2. 5 shan September 6, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    arr I know… I’m seriously starting to think I have pull over the sun. When I leave, it gets nice, I come back, all goes to shit. WTF? At least you got to enjoy some good weather while I was away 😉

    ps – me = in love w/ Hitchcock as well, I’ve seen to catch a thief enough to know the script by heart. How can anyone NOT love him?!

    Like

    • 6 paris (im)perfect September 6, 2010 at 6:39 pm

      That is the worst – being away from Paris when it’s actually good weather. I mean, it’s so rare! Sorry about that. Hope at least your vacation destination was sunny, too!

      Ah, To Catch a Thief – also great! Yeah, I guess it’s not such a big deal to like Hitchcock. Are there people who don’t?

      Like

  3. 7 Sweet Freak September 6, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    Well it was fun while it lasted! Three days of Indian summer is better than nothing. Let me see what else I can come up with here to make us feel less depressed about what seems to have been a tease… oy!

    Like

    • 8 paris (im)perfect September 6, 2010 at 6:40 pm

      Yep, we really need to stretch to see the good in this.

      Well, I needed to get back to work, so this gray sky means I won’t head off to a sunny terrace and drink an apero instead. Hmm, no, I still want the sun back. Not a good enough reason 🙂

      Like

  4. 9 Paris Paul P September 6, 2010 at 10:41 pm

    Yeah, the rain came back just in time for the strike. Talk about perfect timing…

    Like

  5. 11 Sarah September 7, 2010 at 8:09 pm

    Hi Sion! The film festival sounds lovely–Notorious is pitch-perfect and sexy, too. Simon and I saw noticed doing Quasimodo in the Place des vosges just before we flew back to NYC. Enjoy the lovely weather–after the hottest summer ever on NYC we’re getting some breezy days at last, so I hope it continues for both cities.

    Like


Leave a comment




paris (im)perfect?

Sion Dayson is paris (im)perfect. Writer, dreamer, I moved to France on – no exaggerating – a romantic whim. As you can imagine, a lot can go wrong (and very right!) with such a (non)plan. These are the (im)perfect stories that result.

Share the love!

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,994 other subscribers
Follow siondayson on Twitter


easyJet Holidays Paris City Break
Expat Blog website
Expat Women website
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker
Worldette – Ignite your travel life, make a difference, have fun!
© 2010-18 Copyright Sion Dayson ALL RIGHTS RESERVED