Write-in Paris (WIP) !

Boulevard Voltaire. Photo by Sean Fitzroy.

Boulevard Voltaire. Photo by Sean Fitzroy.

Closed shops with handwritten notes on their shuttered doors announcing vacation, emptier streets so tempting the urge to walk in the middle of them sometimes overtakes. Cafes are even more relaxed than usual. Linger, linger.

But crowds still appear in parks with picnic baskets and blankets to watch outdoor movies. Sunny enough this year, too, for Paris Plages (ends this Sunday). The tourist sites must be packed, as well, though I haven’t been anywhere near those for awhile.

It’s August in Paris. A slow, delicious month. Counterintuitively to some, it’s my favorite one. I love working during this time. Less pressure in the air as others holiday, I feel as if I’m getting ahead.

Corner cafe. Photo by Michele Filgate.

Corner cafe. Photo by Michele Filgate.

I’ve come up with an idea, friends, and I’m excited to share. I hope you will join if you can.

Starting in September, I will begin hosting “write-in” sessions in my home. Not a workshop. Not a class. Rather “communal scribble sessions in the City of Light.”

So often, the biggest challenge in writing is the most basic of steps: sitting down and staying there to do it. I think a lot about why it’s so hard to keep one’s butt in the chair – resistance, doubt, distractions, fear.

I know I’m not alone. It’s a solitary act, writing. And yet we, writers, are a tribe.

What if I created a community specifically to foster collective creative energy in a supportive environment? Offered a cozy space to focus on projects, our concentration on solo work buoyed by a group?

WIP websiteI’ve launched Write-In Paris (WIP) and would love for you to take a look. Think of it as a weekly date with your writing in good company. Consider it a membership to a writer’s gym – only this gym is always super fun with like-minded souls. You’ll commit to your writing practice and it’s a promise you’ll want to keep.

I’m looking forward to the rentree now. I can’t wait to put WIP into play!

Please visit the Write-In Paris (WIP) website for full details on schedules and pricing. Then, I hope you sign up!

Thoughts? Ideas? I welcome your suggestions of how to make WIP great and how to spread the word. Thank you!

16 Responses to “Write-in Paris (WIP) !”


  1. 1 writenaked August 12, 2015 at 3:16 pm

    Love your new venture! This is a fantastic idea to foster your writing community and spread positivity. I like the concept of a series of write-ins. I’ve hosted a few throughout the year, but not on a consistent basis. Look forward to learning how it grows!

    • 2 paris (im)perfect August 12, 2015 at 3:58 pm

      Thanks so much, Tara! Oh, I’d love to hear about your experience hosting write-ins! Yes, at first I was thinking of doing a drop-in write-in, but I like the extra level of commitment and community-building of doing a series people sign up for. I envision writers knowing they have a great place to come work on a regular basis. I’m excited to see how it goes!

  2. 3 buffyschilling August 12, 2015 at 3:23 pm

    Hello, I am glad you are enjoying August. Life moves so fast to begin with, that it is nice to have it slow down around you. Good luck with the writing project. I wish I could participate. I have my commitment to writing an article for the firefighter site, but with the hours I work, I have knocked down how many I do a year. I try to write a little everyday, but they are more notes than anything. Maybe one day I will piece those notes and journal entries together. For now, I have to go teach a class . Take care and enjoy the rest of your summer. I have been considering the best time to visit Europe next, and the more I think about it, the more I think late summer may be the perfect time.

    • 4 paris (im)perfect August 12, 2015 at 4:09 pm

      Writing everyday – even just a little – is so important Buffy! I know how hard you work! As far as vacationing in Europe in late summer, it definitely depends on what you want. The tourist sites are crowded, a fair number of places are closed, and a lot of the locals are gone. But as someone who lives here year-round, I love the slow-down. So it’s something to consider! But a case can be made for any time of year. Enjoy the rest of your summer, too!

  3. 5 anniedm778 August 12, 2015 at 3:37 pm

    A great idea! I look forward to hearing more about it!

  4. 7 marmcc August 12, 2015 at 3:51 pm

    Do you know the Paris LitUp folks? Their open mice might be a good place to promote your project. Good luck.

  5. 9 marmcc August 12, 2015 at 3:52 pm

    Sorry — open MICS, not mice.

  6. 11 Julie Christine August 12, 2015 at 6:55 pm

    Sion, I’m so excited for your new venture. What a wonderful way to build community. And I ache to be a part of it!

    I’m leading a 10-week novels-in-progress group beginning in September, so I will be with you in spirit. We will be engaging in feedback each week, but my focus will be on the positive, what it is in each piece of writing that resonates, moves, pulls us in. I’m so excited. Let’s compare notes in a couple of months to see how it’s all going.

    Bisous- Julie

    • 12 paris (im)perfect August 12, 2015 at 10:52 pm

      Oh Julie, your students are so lucky to have you as an instructor! Sounds like a wonderful 10-week session. I love that your focus will be on what’s compelling and working on the page. With a project as large and complex as a novel, when you’re in the thick of it, it’s so important to hear that feedback when you’re still figuring it all out. It will be a great experience for all, I’m sure. I’d love to compare notes in a few months! Are you teaching through an organization or did you set up shop yourself?

  7. 15 Tina August 12, 2015 at 11:39 pm

    Good luck, Sion! I did something similar for a few years. It was so much fun!


Leave a Reply

paris (im)perfect?

Sion Dayson is paris (im)perfect. Writer, dreamer, I moved to France on – no exaggerating – a romantic whim. As you can imagine, a lot can go wrong (and very right!) with such a (non)plan. These are the (im)perfect stories that result.

Share the love!

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,970 other followers

Follow parisimperfect on Twitter


easyJet Holidays Paris City Break
Expat Blog website
Expat Women website
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker
Worldette – Ignite your travel life, make a difference, have fun!
© 2010-15 Copyright Sion Dayson ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

