Refilling the Well + Return to France*

Any guesses where I am? It *is* a return to French territory.

Any guesses where I am? It *is* a return to French territory.

Right after my writing residency at the Kerouac House I went on a road trip. It only seemed fitting after spending a full season in Jack’s house.

From New Orleans to Baton Rouge, NYC to San Juan, I’ve had a lot of fun before finally returning to French territory…though it’s probably not where you think.

400 palm trees line L'Allée du Manoir

(Literally) on the road: 400 palm trees line L’Allée du Manoir

I bounce between periods of recording life in my notebook and of living it. Rather than worry as I used to when not putting pen to paper consistently (maybe I’ll never write again!) I instead embrace these periods as an important part of the process.

I just enjoyed 3 months of uninterrupted solo time to focus on my creative work. What I’ve done since is travel, experiencing new places, meeting old friends and making new ones. Planting the seeds for new stories. Refilling the well.

It’s a lot to encapsulate, but here are a few snapshots:

Still giving it a go for the second coldest Mardi Gras in N'Awlins' history!

Frigid Mardi Gras but giving it a go!

With beau in tow, I hitched a ride with a former Kerouac House writer-in-residence and her husband for a 12-hour drive to New Orleans.

We were just in time for a beautiful sunny weekend that turned into the second coldest Mardi Gras in the city’s history.

Still, there’s little that can dampen the Crescent City’s spirits. I would love to return and explore the city during non-Mardi Gras time, too (though MG was a ball!)

From there we sought more French influences in Baton Rouge. (No, not really. We went for the amazing Southern hospitality of another writer friend! We never did find the red stick.)

Baton Rouge

My beloved New York had been battered by a brutal winter, as had most of the country. No blizzards in sight for us on our next stop, thankfully, though it was super cold. It was cool seeing NYC afresh; beau wanted to see the tourist sites and I (mostly) obliged.

I made sure to point him to some of my favorite views.

I made sure to point him to some of my favorite views.

By the time we hit San Juan I was ready for the sun and warmer weather. It was a brief stopover on the way to my mystery French destination but I wish we had stayed longer. The colorful streets and the welcoming sea were gorgeous.

Sion by the Sea in San Juan

Colorful house in San Juan

Street art in San Juan

Street art in San Juan

By way of tiny airplane we made our way to my beau’s original home, a new part of France for me to say the least.

Near Les Chutes du Carbet

Close to Les Chutes du Carbet

I’m now plunging into a demanding more-than-full time freelance project (gotta make some money, as you might imagine), but I have been so grateful for this chance to widen my horizons. To be, for a brief moment, a true bohemian.

Though I’ll be slaving away inside now with little respite from work, I’ll be staying on in this side of paradise for a bit longer so nice views out the window are guaranteed.

*My question to you, can you guess where I am? (Clues are in the captions!)

Capesterre

19 Responses to “Refilling the Well + Return to France*”


  1. 1 egmw2 March 28, 2014 at 8:41 pm

    Sion,

    You were in New Orleans!!!!!!! I live here. Come back

  2. 3 villalaluna March 28, 2014 at 9:25 pm

    La Guadeloupe! C’est beau…

  3. 5 Nina Lorch March 28, 2014 at 10:23 pm

    “Il y’a a Guadeloupe, au pays de la vigne une jeune fille aux cheveux noir.
    Elle est élégante chaque fois que je la voix, n’est-ce pas pour la premiere fois, jolie fille mademoiselle.” (then repeat)

    Bonjour Sian! I learned this little chanson from some children when I was living in West Africa; I wonder how it made its way there.They established the rhythm with elaborate clapping, and pronounced all the syllables

    It’s funny because when your mother told me that you’d be going to Guadeloupe, that song just popped into my head after all these MANY years. And it looks like it’s a beautiful place!

  4. 9 buffyschilling March 28, 2014 at 10:24 pm

    Hello,

    Are you in Haiti?? Hope you are enjoying the spring so far!!! I’m in Orlando visiting my son for a week. Can you believe I brought my mom after our Europe issue with her??? She has been ok so far. Europe was too much of an adventure for her.

    Take care.

    Buffy

    • 10 paris (im)perfect March 28, 2014 at 10:33 pm

      Getting warm…I’m definitely on an island :)

      Since it’s already been revealed above, it’s true…I’m in Guadeloupe! A beautiful Caribbean island, one of France’s overseas departments.

      Orlando! As you know, I just spent 3 months there! I enjoyed my time there a lot, too. Is your son going to school there? You’re a real sport and I’m sure your mom appreciates your efforts. As long as you don’t run into any alligators it sounds like she’ll do fine with this adventure :)

      • 11 buffyschilling March 28, 2014 at 10:43 pm

        I didn’t read responses before I guessed, lol. Yes son is going to automotive school here. My other one
        Attends a school in winter park fl just north of here, but he takes his classes online. He is getting a BS of Science in music production. He is in his Sr year.

        Yeah i think my mom appreciates this in some way. I know she was happen to see him. I definitely don’t want to see an alligator. Did see a lizard that blended into the bark of a palm tree. It is nice to be in the warmth of Florida. Virginia was too cold this year. I’m looking forward to reading about your next adventures.

      • 12 paris (im)perfect March 29, 2014 at 12:00 am

        I like that you guessed without looking, Buffy :)
        I LOVED the lizards in Orlando. I was not keen on seeing an alligator, either.

        Thanks as always for reading. Have fun on your next adventures, too!

  5. 13 Karene March 28, 2014 at 11:06 pm

    Ahhh, Guadeloupe. I am embarrassed to say I have never heard of this island. And it’s so very beautiful! Have a wonderful time!

    • 14 paris (im)perfect March 29, 2014 at 12:01 am

      It *is* beautiful. Isn’t it wonderful to learn something new? Now you can add it to your wish-list. (Also, I didn’t know anything about Guadeloupe before meeting my beau, either. I’m glad to be learning first-hand!)

  6. 15 JillC March 28, 2014 at 11:42 pm

    I have no idea *where* you are … but I want to be there with you (maybe next door?). It looks lovely :)

  7. 17 I Say Oui March 29, 2014 at 1:18 am

    Nice pose with the wind and water around you. :)

    It’s good not to be too stressed about the writing, you need the inspiration time too!


  1. 1 Create What You Seek + The Kale Project | paris (im)perfect Trackback on April 1, 2014 at 9:30 pm

Leave a Reply

paris (im)perfect?

Sion Dayson is paris (im)perfect. Writer, dreamer, I moved to France on – no exaggerating – a romantic whim. As you can imagine, a lot can go wrong (and very right!) with such a (non)plan. These are the (im)perfect stories that result.

Share the love!

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,116 other followers

Follow parisimperfect on Twitter


easyJet Holidays Paris City Break
Expat Blog website
Expat Women website
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker
Worldette – Ignite your travel life, make a difference, have fun!
© 2010-14 Copyright Sion Dayson ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,116 other followers

