Love Beams and a Reading

“Now and then it’s good to pause in our pursuit of happiness and just be happy.” -Guillaume Apollinaire

Stop! Small miracle alert. Love beam over the Seine.

Stop! Small miracle alert. Love beam over the Seine.

Happy Valentine’s Day, friends!

I hope your life is full of love, on this and every day. I’ve spent the majority of V-days single rather than in a pair so I truly mean love in its widest sense, not simply the part about romance. Family, friends, the nice neighbor who baked you a pie, the stranger who gave you a smile – love is all around us!

I’d be lying if I didn’t confess to a special kind of happiness this time round, though. My beau has just arrived from Paris.

But I maintain the glory’s in the small moments. No big plans today – we walked around the lake then spent a long time in the grocery story (if last post I explored my own reverse culture shock, it’s been really fun seeing what impresses my beau most about the States. Who knew that squirrels, school buses, mailboxes, and our garbage pickup system would so fascinate?)

The sun shone bright today and I have laughed and hugged and kissed and read and now I write to you. It’s yet another day to appreciate, to continue my New Year’s resolution, straight from Jack Kerouac – “be in love with yr life.”

Speaking of, my time at the Kerouac House is winding down. For anyone in the Orlando area, I’ll be having my farewell reading on Saturday, February 22 at 8 PM (1418 Clouser Avenue, 32804 Orlando, FL). I’d love to see you if you’re in town! You’ll get a chance to hear some of my work, peek inside the historic house, and stay for a reception. You can also meet my beau who will be filming the event.

What’s not to love about that?

Sending rainbows your way. Happy Valentine’s Day!

7 Responses to “Love Beams and a Reading”


  1. 1 I Say Oui February 15, 2014 at 2:50 am

    I agree wholeheartedly with your sentiments about small moments and happiness.

    Recently I had French friends visit, and they were also fascinated by the multitude of squirrels and by the “big” mailboxes. Also by how buses, cars, and trucks are different from those in France.

    • 2 paris (im)perfect February 15, 2014 at 3:01 am

      That’s so funny, hearing the common themes. Yes! The squirrels and mailboxes are a hit and he’s definitely noticing all the vehicles here, too! Funny your French friends noticed the same.

      Here’s to all the small moments and beautiful things!

  2. 3 Nina Lorch February 15, 2014 at 2:33 pm

    Squirrels! Rodents with fancy tails! Bird feeder marauders! And yet how they seem to be a source of fascination for people across the pond. You just evoked a wonderful memory. We were staying in a lovely B & B in the Catalunian Pyrenees some years ago, and were breakfasting on the single most perfect thing I have ever eaten: pa amb tomaquet (bread with tomato kind of smashed into it). The two innkeepers started jumping up and down and pointing out the window, nearly delirious over having sighted two small red squirrels outside. I looked, smiled, and returned my attention to my most excellent breakfast.

    Did I ever tell you that when a friend of mine came to visit from France (he was a priest I had known in Africa), he was most impressed by the fact that in Chapel Hill everyone had yards and gardens and green around their homes. He said, “Oh, I love your little ‘ouses in ze forest!”

    Glad your beau is there; if only we could amble over for your reading next weekend. Here, on your old street in NC, the snow has been plowed, but we did enjoy several days of winter wonderland without losing electricity!

    ciao, Nina

    • 4 paris (im)perfect February 15, 2014 at 11:13 pm

      Hi Nina,

      Oh, those are great memories. Thanks so much for sharing! I guess we do have little houses in the forest. And it’s true; the squirrels do seem to fascinate.

      I’m also quite familiar with pa amb tomaquet thanks to my time in Barcelona each summer.

      Glad to hear you didn’t lose electricity during the storm!

  3. 5 goatcadeaux February 15, 2014 at 11:34 pm

    Thank you for the lovely post. I just recently broke up with a lovely man because I felt the need to devote myself to my writing and music. I too have spent most Valentine’s Days alone, so this is both exciting and new, yet familiar to me. It sounds like this year you have the perfect mix! Happy Valentine’s Day! <3

    • 6 paris (im)perfect February 16, 2014 at 1:53 am

      Hello! It is always tricky trying to navigate the needs of artmaking with a relationship. Writing requires so much solitude; it can be a hard balance also creating space for another person. I’m certainly still learning how to do it. My beau is also creative so understands the need for solo time so that’s definitely one thing working in our favor. The other is probably that both of us were content on our own – we attract the right people when we’re happy with ourselves, I suppose!

      I wish you lovely, luscious time for your writing and music. The time after a breakup can be so rich and interesting – a time for rediscovery. Thanks so much for your comment and Happy Valentine’s Day!


Leave a Reply

paris (im)perfect?

Sion Dayson is paris (im)perfect. Writer, dreamer, I moved to France on – no exaggerating – a romantic whim. As you can imagine, a lot can go wrong (and very right!) with such a (non)plan. These are the (im)perfect stories that result.

Share the love!

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,207 other followers

Follow parisimperfect on Twitter


easyJet Holidays Paris City Break
Expat Blog website
Expat Women website
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker
Worldette – Ignite your travel life, make a difference, have fun!
© 2010-14 Copyright Sion Dayson ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,207 other followers

