Fantasy Meets Reality

Hello dear ones,

I know, I know. It’s been too long.

Don’t think I don’t think about you – because I very much do!

Sion in Parc Floral - color!
(I just set this as the new photo on my website. What do you think? Does it work? Does it say happy writer in Paris? Or actually Sion in “aris” since I’m covering the “P?” But that sounds like “heiress” which is kind of of cool, too. Ahem. Babbling!)

Life is full these days and it’s a challenge making it to the computer screen. Or rather, hard to come back to the computer after many hours spent in front of it.

My 9 to 5 (erm, later adjusted hours in my case) sees me as a content writing/editing machine (my boss actually called me a robot yesterday, in what was actually a compliment). I’m helping with the relaunch of a major website and there are exactly 678 pages to get in shape. I’m looking at every single one.

After playing writing robot, I head home to my second job – preparing lesson plans for my imminent return to Spain.

Yes! You may remember I taught creative writing last summer in a study abroad program for high schoolers in Barcelona. Well, they’ve asked me back, with even an extra class on board. I’ll teach 6 days a week, live in the dorm, accompany field trips – full immersion with the teens! It’s exhausting and exhilarating and it hasn’t even started yet. A ton to prepare.

In between all that, I’m listening to Spanish podcasts as I do errands in optimistic efforts of (re)learning the language that way.

So by the end of the day, I’m kind of braindead and can’t quite make it to the blog.

Yep, I pass the Iron Lady every day on the way to work now.

Yep, I pass the Iron Lady every day on the way to work now.

But I’ve missed you! How are you? Very well, I hope.

Today had so much sunshine – so bright, so mighty! Paris couldn’t have needed it more. It may seem boring to talk weather, but friends, really. The rain here was out of control. People were losing it; almost on the brink! (I even saw a sobbing woman run toward the tracks as a train approached. Aie! Another hazard of hard commutes! And yes, someone stopped her.)

No one knows if Mister Soleil is going to stay (I’m still wearing a heavy coat in June; just saying) so we flock outside when he appears.

What a bad blogger I’ve become – I even forgot my camera on the one nice day!

I lunched on the Champs de Mars (my office is close) then walked along the Seine a good way home. I saw that a new floating garden on the river is under construction and the Petit Palais’ columns were dressed in bright colors. Oh, I wish I could show you!

I get the impression that a lot of people think this is how we live in Paris normally – meals on the Eiffel Tower’s lawn, sunny strolls along the Seine.

It’s so far from the truth, but once in awhile it happens. Fantasy meets reality.

I took some photos for tourists as I walked through the Tuileries. I had to smile as they posed. Do they realize how rare this good fortune?

I hope your fantasy life is meeting reality in moments, too. I hope you’re having wonderful adventures, wherever you may be.

Artfully Adored ScreenshotP.S. I’m sending some link love over to Stephanie on ArtfullyAdored. She’s got a luxurious giveaway going on – perhaps make the fantasy real?

7 Responses to “Fantasy Meets Reality”


  1. 1 Tart and Soul June 4, 2013 at 11:33 pm

    Thanks for the update, hope you’re well!

    ________________________________

  2. 3 L June 5, 2013 at 1:07 am

    Ha ha, people here in Paris do like to talk about the weather. It is truly interesting to talk about because every time the sun comes out, it seems like a miracle!

  3. 5 pretemoiparis June 5, 2013 at 10:44 am

    Lovely to see a post from you dear!!! I am amazed at how much stamina you have to do all of that. Wishing you much luck this Summer in Spain!!! xoxo

    • 6 paris (im)perfect June 5, 2013 at 6:47 pm

      Ha – I really don’t have this much stamina. I’m not sure how long I can keep it up. I’m telling myself I can sleep in August, but that seems kind of a far away fro sleep ;)

      But it’s all good things so no complaining. Thank you so much for your sweet comment. I love Spain and am happy to be returning. Hope you have a fantastic summer, too!

  4. 7 Tanya in Transition June 6, 2013 at 3:38 pm

    Ditto. I’ve been a bad blogger since, well, for a while. Life is just so busy and after sitting in front of the computer for work, sitting there for another stint to write is a little tiring.

    So glad to hear you’re doing well Sion. Mmm, Spain. España? Me gusto!


Leave a Reply

paris (im)perfect?

Sion Dayson is paris (im)perfect. Writer, dreamer, I moved to France on – no exaggerating – a romantic whim. As you can imagine, a lot can go wrong (and very right!) with such a (non)plan. These are the (im)perfect stories that result.

Share the love!

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,114 other followers

Follow parisimperfect on Twitter


easyJet Holidays Paris City Break
Expat Blog website
Expat Women website
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker
Worldette – Ignite your travel life, make a difference, have fun!
© 2010-14 Copyright Sion Dayson ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,114 other followers

