Parc Floral de Paris

“Suddenly I realize
That if I stepped out of my body I would break
Into blossom.”

-from “A Blessing” by James Wright

Lake and red and yellow flowers at the Parc Floral, Paris

Lake and ambitious flowers at the Parc Floral, Paris

This past weekend I stumbled into the Parc Floral. It was something of a spontaneous trip; it was not the original destination, but then it just appeared.

It seemed a bit of serendipity, too, as it had been suggested by the winner of the Quiet Paris giveaway. (Thank you everyone for entering and for your great ideas!) I’ve been to the Bois de Vincennes before, but for some reason never wandered to that part.

It was indeed quiet – an oasis! I think it may have helped that it was chilly again (witness the winter clothes in the photos) so not many people were out. Add that to the tips for finding tranquility: brave the gray and cold!

Presenting the Parc Floral de Paris

Presenting the Parc Floral de Paris

Despite the weather, I do feel as if I’m blooming again. So many new things are happening; I’m holding tight to see how things evolve.

Last week I started a new job; it’s only a short-term contract for a couple months, but I’m full time in an office again. It’s been a few years! I’m excited about the content project, but I see long days ahead. Because of course as soon as I’m back to the 9-5 I have a million creative projects clamoring for my love.

May is a great time to start work, though – there are four holidays in the month! First one is tomorrow. Vive la France!

Flowers at Parc Floral

And so, already the weekend, and what a wonderful surprise it turned out to be. I went wandering with my new beau (yes! more newness!) and think the Parc Floral may now be a favorite.

TropicalParcFloral

It was lovely and lush, even with full spring still lagging behind. My favorite part: the trees. At certain moments I felt as if I were in a magical forest.

MagicalWoodsParcFloral

There were waterfalls and waterfowl, totems and bonsai trees. Even peacocks which I never knew sound like strange distressed cats (meow!)

The waterfall is best seen on the *other* side.

The waterfall is best seen on the *other* side.

A couple performers  heading toward the Cercle des Artistes

A couple performers heading toward the Cercle des Artistes

Meow!

Meow!

Bonsai!

Bonsai!

Art gallery in the park

Art gallery in the park

Art imitating life...or vice versa.

Art imitating life…or vice versa.

Smelling the roses (or rather a random fallen flower I found on the bench)

Smelling the roses (or rather a random fallen flower I found on the bench)

A ride in the woods

A ride in the woods

The city dropped away; I didn’t even feel like I was in Paris.

Oh, and dear readers, sometimes that’s exactly what I need!

Total peace. I will be back!

Total peace. I will be back!

15 Responses to “Parc Floral de Paris”


  1. 1 Jan May 1, 2013 at 9:58 am

    What a lovely post! Your pics are wonderful. My husband and I are in Orleans now. We visited the Parc Floral there and it was quite amazing. We nearly had the place to ourselves.

  2. 3 Lil May 1, 2013 at 10:16 am

    Hey, I was there for the first time during Easter and it’s a really nice part of the area to walk around aimlessly. It does feel a world away from Paris. It was sunny when my friends and I were there, so there were lots of kids running around – it’s a really family-friendly place.

    • 4 paris (im)perfect May 1, 2013 at 2:56 pm

      It is a family-friendly place and I can image it’s more full on nice days. There was hardly anyone when I was there, but again, it was probably the combo of cold temperatures and everyone having left on vacances scolaires!

  3. 5 Alicia May 1, 2013 at 4:53 pm

    Beautiful post! Beautiful Parc Floral (I’m obsessed with bonsai trees!). Your last pic spoke to my soul. “Total peace”…. it’s a beautiful thing. Loving all the newness in your life, and wishing you the very best!

  4. 7 Tammee May 2, 2013 at 9:52 pm

    Ok girl, you have all kinds of good things happening. I told everyone that this was going to be a good year and it seems like I was right. Enjoy your new beginnings.

    • 8 paris (im)perfect May 3, 2013 at 10:19 pm

      Thanks, lady! It’s true. 2012 was kind of a crappy year in a lot of ways. I was really hoping 2013 would step it up. I’m excited for new beginnings. Hope all is well in your world, too!

  5. 9 Leslie Duffy May 3, 2013 at 2:46 pm

    You do look like you are blooming. I bet the new beau took the pictures and if that’s how you look at him, it’s a good sign!

    • 10 paris (im)perfect May 3, 2013 at 10:21 pm

      *Blush* Thank you. And it’s true! New beau did take the photos and I think there are many good signs! Even more telling, he took the pictures in the Pere Lachaise post, too. He’s the one responsible for making me laugh that hard ;)

  6. 11 Franck Isoart May 9, 2013 at 1:08 pm

    You are so demanding with life!
    It gave me an Idea of title for the Parisian chapter of your autobiography: my days here (hope you got it!)

  7. 12 fashionfollowsher May 19, 2013 at 9:26 pm

    Is there anything more perfect than a day in the park….

  8. 13 Edna May 30, 2013 at 11:09 am

    So much newness! We need to catch up sometime! And now I need to put this park on my Paris bucket list…hopefully the weather will warm up sometime soon so I can check it out without wearing a winter jacket…

    • 14 paris (im)perfect June 1, 2013 at 1:16 am

      I remember still wearing a winter jacket in June last summer. This year’s shaping up to be much the same. Plus unending rain. But yes! Should ever the sun shine again, park + catch up sounds lovely ;)

  9. 15 girlseule June 24, 2013 at 11:24 am

    Looks like a lovely place, great photos!


Leave a Reply

paris (im)perfect?

Sion Dayson is paris (im)perfect. Writer, dreamer, I moved to France on – no exaggerating – a romantic whim. As you can imagine, a lot can go wrong (and very right!) with such a (non)plan. These are the (im)perfect stories that result.

Share the love!

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,212 other followers

Follow parisimperfect on Twitter


easyJet Holidays Paris City Break
Expat Blog website
Expat Women website
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker
Worldette – Ignite your travel life, make a difference, have fun!
© 2010-14 Copyright Sion Dayson ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,212 other followers

