Weird News of the Week: Mimes and Paris Nightlife

At the behest of the Paris mayor’s office, squads of mimes will now be deployed in an effort to reduce the city’s nighttime noise pollution.

Um, come again?

Yes, “Pierrots de la Nuit” use street performance to encourage partiers to keep it down. Paris launched the project this past weekend.

Hmm. Here my love of quirkiness is in conflict with my discomfort/fear of clowns and mimes. I also wonder if having a mime trying to shh people might actually risk more rowdiness. I mean, it might be difficult to ignore the mime even though he or she is silent (ah, that’s power!), but might it not tap into some sort of rebellion, too?

It’s all done in good humor, of course. I’ll be interested to see how it plays out.

The following video is in French, but provides a few key visuals.

On that note, I’m off to the City that Never Sleeps for most of April. I might encounter mimes there (because you can encounter any and every thing in New York – one of the reasons I love it!), but I somehow feel safer in the knowledge that mimes aren’t yet an organized noise-reducing tactic in NYC.

Have a joyous month. If you don’t hear from me for awhile, know that it’s because I’m out exploring and enjoying my trip. (Or maybe a mime has stolen my voice!)

To read more about the “Pierrots de la Nuit” initiative, here’s the article from ARTINFO. There’s also a dedicated blog and Facebook page.

What do you think? Night mimes: good idea or childhood nightmare come true?

13 Responses to “Weird News of the Week: Mimes and Paris Nightlife”


  1. 1 Adam April 2, 2012 at 10:22 am

    I can certainly see some of these mimes taking a right-hook to the jaw!

    For me it’s another example of how the French (Parisians?) – for all their intellectualising of issues – remain curiously childlike in spirit. I still haven’t decided if it’s a good or bad thing.

  2. 3 Jennyphoria April 2, 2012 at 1:14 pm

    Terrifying. And yet… I love it. I can’t wait to bump into these clowns. (See what I did there?)

  3. 5 Amy Kortuem April 2, 2012 at 4:39 pm

    There is nothing, nothing worse than a clown. Except maybe a spider. I’m usually one for saying “I’d rather have rain (snow, heat, srikes, blah blah blah) in Paris than anywhere else.”

    But I’d rather never have a clown (or a spider), in Paris or anywhere else. Or a centipede, for that matter.

    Have a wonderful trip.

  4. 7 Dienna April 3, 2012 at 5:09 am

    Looks like an interesting idea, but I too worry about a rowdy, angry drunk reacting aggressively towards them.

    Enjoy your NYC trip! It’s a cool city.

  5. 9 parisbreakfast April 10, 2012 at 10:33 am

    in NYC the mimes will be dressed as the Statue of Liberte!
    We’re all connected.
    Fr kids raditionally go to more puppet shows than we do so, the grownups will behave in my opinion.
    Interesting approach. certainly far better than pepper spray!


  1. 1 HiP Paris Blog » Pretty Paris: Delighting in the Details Trackback on April 12, 2012 at 12:10 pm
  2. 2 shawnmaschino.com - Pretty Paris: Delighting in the Details Trackback on April 17, 2012 at 1:59 pm
  3. 3 Untapped Staff Picks: The Largest LED Structure Trackback on March 16, 2013 at 4:58 pm

Leave a Reply

paris (im)perfect?

Sion Dayson is paris (im)perfect. Writer, dreamer, I moved to France on – no exaggerating – a romantic whim. As you can imagine, a lot can go wrong (and very right!) with such a (non)plan. These are the (im)perfect stories that result.

Share the love!

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,239 other followers

Follow parisimperfect on Twitter


easyJet Holidays Paris City Break
Expat Blog website
Expat Women website
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker
Worldette – Ignite your travel life, make a difference, have fun!
© 2010-14 Copyright Sion Dayson ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,239 other followers

