Monday Morning Music: Zaz in Montmartre

I love running into (good) performers on the street. It’s a sweet bit of serendipity that lifts my mood.

Here’s a ditty by the French singer Zaz. The song, “Les passants,” means passerby.

I thought this might help you imagine strolling through Montmartre and add a little pizzazz to the start of the week. (Thanks PerfectlyParis for the link!)

What are your favorite surprises?

11 Responses to “Monday Morning Music: Zaz in Montmartre”


  1. 1 Milsters @ Little Pieces of Light February 20, 2012 at 12:22 pm

    I LOVE ZAZ! Thank you for putting this up; it totally made my Monday morning. (Even though it’s gorgeous outside, it just makes going into work even more painful…)

  2. 3 Gail, PerfectlyParis (@Perfectly_Paris) February 20, 2012 at 1:23 pm

    Thanks for sharing and I adore this video !!

  3. 5 Linda February 20, 2012 at 5:33 pm

    Since I don’t speak great French…ok, let’s get real. My French is awful! lol Did that glorious girl skat? It sounded great! Thanks for sharing!

  4. 7 Amy Kortuem February 20, 2012 at 7:39 pm

    They’re amazing. I hope someone “discovers” them and gets them lots and lots of paying gigs.

    When I was last in Paris I kept seeing the same accordion player over and over – the street, a restaurant, then in the Metro. I loved it. Musical surprises are the best, aren’t they?

    • 8 paris (im)perfect February 21, 2012 at 12:37 am

      Thankfully, they *have* been discovered. The clip was actually from 2010 and Zaz is a well known singer here as far as I can tell.

      And yes, musical surprises are the best! That’s funny about the accordion player. I sometimes like to think my life is being played against a soundtrack. Seems like you had your own personal musician for your Paris trip ; )

      • 9 Amy Kortuem February 21, 2012 at 4:45 pm

        That’s great – I think that way, too! The accordion play definitely did provide the soundtrack for that trip to Paris. I loved the music so much I braved a huge music store to find a traditional French accordion CD.

  5. 10 Lisa February 21, 2012 at 4:01 am

    Their hair matches!

  6. 11 Paris Karin (an alien parisienne) February 22, 2012 at 7:09 pm

    Zaz is so great. :) I really love her. To me, she encapsulates the vibe of Parisian Hipster Gen Y so well, lol. Thanks for sharing this, Sion! (and now off to the hot-off-the-press post! I have been meaning to comment on this one for DAYS now, and finally did).


Leave a Reply

paris (im)perfect?

Sion Dayson is paris (im)perfect. Writer, dreamer, I moved to France on – no exaggerating – a romantic whim. As you can imagine, a lot can go wrong (and very right!) with such a (non)plan. These are the (im)perfect stories that result.

Share the love!

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,212 other followers

Follow parisimperfect on Twitter


easyJet Holidays Paris City Break
Expat Blog website
Expat Women website
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker
Worldette – Ignite your travel life, make a difference, have fun!
© 2010-14 Copyright Sion Dayson ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,212 other followers

