To the New Year

A bit of poetry to start the new year…

To the New Year by W.S. Merwin

With what stillness at last
you appear in the valley
your first sunlight reaching down
to touch the tips of a few
high leaves that do not stir
as though they had not noticed
and did not know you at all
then the voice of a dove calls
from far away in itself
to the hush of the morning

so this is the sound of you
here and now whether or not
anyone hears it this is
where we have come with our age
our knowledge such as it is
and our hopes such as they are
invisible before us
untouched and still possible

8 Responses to “To the New Year”


  1. 1 Paris Karin (an alien parisienne) January 1, 2012 at 6:46 pm

    “our hopes such as they are
    invisible before us
    untouched and still possible”

    *sigh*

    That’s just lovely. :) Here’s to the possibilities of 2012!
    xx
    Karin

  2. 3 Suzanne Hurst January 1, 2012 at 6:47 pm

    I love this poem. As I read the first stanza, I could see clearly memories of awaking in the mountains – Vermont, Tennessee. A perfect poem for Jan. 1.

    • 4 paris (im)perfect January 1, 2012 at 6:53 pm

      Yes, this struck me as the perfect poem for today. And ah, Vermont! I am thinking about Vermont right now, too. I am missing the beauty and energy of a writing residency in Montpelier I was lucky to experience as part of my MFA. It’s that time of year again and I am missing being there. But I am absolutely loving the contemplation of hopes “untouched and still possible” from here.

  3. 5 Virginia January 2, 2012 at 6:01 pm

    Beautiful words and a stunning photograph to match. I’ll be in Paris in 9 days!!!!
    V

  4. 7 Krizia | Women Entrepreneurs HQ January 3, 2012 at 4:10 pm

    I am in Paris now with my family and enjoyed the time here. Last year, I was 100% certain I wanted to move here and leave North America. This year, I realize I’m really North American with a European soul, but some of the structures, policies and way of thinking of Parisians would drive me nuts.

    I think coming and spending 2-3 weeks each year is the best option right now.

    I’m off to Italy later this week and see how I feel.

    I love that you are showing BOTH sides of Paris — life here is more than The Seine, croissants and great wine.

    Kriziai

    • 8 paris (im)perfect January 3, 2012 at 11:54 pm

      Thanks so much, Kriziai. That is exactly what I’m trying to do – though I am pretty glad the Seine and croissants are here, too. You’re right that living somewhere is completely different from simply visiting. If you can swing an annual trip to Paris, hat sounds like a great plan! I have indeed been confronted with different ways of thinking here. Of course, it’s a different culture, so that’s to be expected. I’m grateful to have the chance to live here – experiencing both the highs and the lows, the trials and the triumphs!


Leave a Reply

paris (im)perfect?

Sion Dayson is paris (im)perfect. Writer, dreamer, I moved to France on – no exaggerating – a romantic whim. As you can imagine, a lot can go wrong (and very right!) with such a (non)plan. These are the (im)perfect stories that result.

Share the love!

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,213 other followers

Follow parisimperfect on Twitter


easyJet Holidays Paris City Break
Expat Blog website
Expat Women website
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker
Worldette – Ignite your travel life, make a difference, have fun!
© 2010-14 Copyright Sion Dayson ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,213 other followers

