Playing Dress Up

A few weeks ago, I noticed a Tweet from Melissa at Prete Moi Paris asking if anyone was up for a clothing swap party.

I had recently cleared out my closet in attempts to make space for my new roommate so I didn’t have much to offer. (Also, as my style favors comfy above all else I was sure no one would exactly be clamoring to get at my stuff).

I had a hunch that this was still something to go to, though. Melissa often covers fashion and I was just imagining what delightful threads she probably had. I emailed and said, I have no clothes, but I can bring food and beverages, that ok? It was. I was in.

Boy, did I luck out! It turned out to be just me, Melissa and Milla, another fashion blogger. And looky here – everything I tried on fit!


My two blogging buddies seemed tickled silly to act as my personal stylist. At one point, Milla’s jaw actually dropped open and she exclaimed, “but you’re beautiful!”

I laughed. “Yeah, I keep it under cover.”

As I tried on dress after dress, and with a new pair of heels to finish off each outfit she insisted. “I never want to see you in cargo pants or trousers again!” (Oops. Definitely haven’t kept that promise).

Fashion isn’t really my thing (shocking confession, I know). It’s not that I don’t like looking nice. I mean, it’s not an active stance to appear unappealing. I just have other priorities, I guess. Heck, feeding myself is often a challenge, much less trying to look cute. I embrace my comfy chic style (this is what I’ll call it anyway).

But it was so much fun just playing dress up for a day – and scoring an entirely new wardrobe! (I might not like shopping, but I love a bargain. What’s better than free?)

Melissa posted a full montage of many of the different outfits they assembled for me over at her blog. I didn’t necessarily feel I warranted a full report, but why not pretend to be a model? Yes, even I can pull off being a girl sometimes.

Check out more outfits here!

22 Responses to “Playing Dress Up”


  1. 1 Paris Karin (an alien parisienne) September 21, 2011 at 4:51 pm

    Sion D, Fashion Blogger in the Making!! I love this.

    “At one point, Milla’s jaw actually dropped open and she exclaimed, “but you’re beautiful!”

    I laughed. “Yeah, I keep it under cover.””

    LOL! Well thank you for coming out from the wrapping and letting us see just how terrific you look. What a nice boost! I am so glad that you got to do this, Sion. And thank you for sharing with us all about it. I’m off to check out those other photos now! :D

  2. 3 Amy Kortuem September 21, 2011 at 7:26 pm

    Wow! Those “giveaway” clothes look better than most of my current wardrobe! And you look fantastic, Sion. In these and the other blog’s photos, too.

  3. 5 Marge Anderson September 21, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    What a surprise…I don’t believe I’ve ever seen you in a dress. You look absolutely terrific! How fortunate to have friends who are into fashion and are giving away those great looking clothes. They look like they were made for you.
    What wonderful luck!

  4. 11 SAS Fiction Girl September 22, 2011 at 6:33 am

    That is the coolest thing ever! Now, don’t let your new roomie steal your clothes.
    P.S. Nixing cargo pants for the turquoise top and charcoal skirt? Stacy London would be proud!

  5. 13 Milla September 22, 2011 at 10:44 am

    Such a witty post! You crack me up!

    I feel like that black & white dress in the top image was made for you and somehow transports you to another era. Beautiful! The belt was a great find as well – so versatile. I cannot wait to see you again in one of these ensembles.

    • 14 paris (im)perfect September 22, 2011 at 12:14 pm

      Thanks, Milla! I’ve already rocked your fab black and white top at a few social gatherings, but haven’t seen you yet!

      And yes, that belt does everything! I like thinking that I look like I’m from another era, too :)

  6. 15 Paris Paul P September 22, 2011 at 3:58 pm

    From one comfy chic-er (chic-y?) to another, that blue thingy looks great on you! The fashion swap sounds like a good idea and a definitely post millennium Parisian take on the 70’s Key Parties in the States

  7. 16 Paris Paul P September 22, 2011 at 3:58 pm

    From one comfy chic-er (chic-y?) to another, that blue thingy looks great on you! The fashion swap sounds like a good idea and a definitely post millennium Parisian take on the 70’s Key Parties in the States.

  8. 17 Franck September 22, 2011 at 7:03 pm

    So refreshing an American (pretty) girl who doesn’t get after each piece of cloth in stridulate on the pretext it is Paris!
    There is probably a link to the heights of your IQ.

  9. 18 Lindsey September 22, 2011 at 9:40 pm

    I think you came out the winner at this party! You look fabulous!

  10. 20 pretemoiparis September 23, 2011 at 9:15 am

    You ARE beautiful Sion! And now you have a few more outfits in your wardrobe to flaunt that!
    Had tons of fun… :)
    Bisous!!!


  1. 1 Prête Moi Paris’ Blogiversary Bash | paris (im)perfect Trackback on October 23, 2013 at 4:23 pm

Leave a Reply

paris (im)perfect?

Sion Dayson is paris (im)perfect. Writer, dreamer, I moved to France on – no exaggerating – a romantic whim. As you can imagine, a lot can go wrong (and very right!) with such a (non)plan. These are the (im)perfect stories that result.

Share the love!

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,115 other followers

Follow parisimperfect on Twitter


easyJet Holidays Paris City Break
Expat Blog website
Expat Women website
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker
Worldette – Ignite your travel life, make a difference, have fun!
© 2010-14 Copyright Sion Dayson ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,115 other followers

