Where the Light Enters You

Blast off to your dreams! (Or, at least, Menilmontant)

Today celebrates a happier anniversary than my previous post: my five-year Paris birthday. Half a decade of living in the City of Light. Wow!

Everything I said last year about my Paris birthday still stands: I’m grateful for the adventure. Life is imperfect. The imperfect can be beautiful.

This year it’s kind of an interesting confluence of events. Yesterday I received the convocation to appear in divorce court. The date will be October 10.

Though I’ve been making my way and getting stronger every day, that letter definitely did a doozy on me. It’s not unexpected, it is the next step in the way forward, but it still sliced through my heart. To face the reality, the final decree.

Then again, think of what shines through where I am pierced.

“Don’t turn away. Keep your gaze on the bandaged place. That’s where the light enters you.” –Rumi

I’ve been throwing myself into work and being rewarded for it. If my silences are longer, it is because I am tending not only to the process of processing, but on all these fabulous projects on which I want to keep pushing forward.

When I lament my loneliness, I remind myself of all the love I have in my life. And when I crawl into bed and bemoan the nonexistence of a personal life, I whisper to myself, it’s not true. That’s just your pity party, Sion. Each moment in my life is personal and I am creating what I need.

Momentum is building writing-wise. In the past week I’ve had an acceptance for an essay and a poem, and novel work is going well. (My novel-in-progress recently placed as a Semifinalist in the William Faulkner Wisdom Competition). I’ve started a proofreading project for Frommer’s and I have new leads.

Each day, I wake up to the sun (yes, even in normally gray Paris!) and do at least one thing that brings me closer to my dreams.

The light is winning. It shines.

13 Responses to “Where the Light Enters You”


  1. 1 Tanya September 16, 2011 at 3:49 pm

    I call them my personal pity parties; D calls them moments of low energy. Either way, we’re all entitled to dwell in that negative space…but only for a little while.

    Here’s a little unemotional info for you. Assume that you have a life expectancy of at least 85 years. These few moments will appear insignificant, especially when compared to all the amazing and wonderful stuff you have produced/will produce.

    You know I’m a big fan and I am so pleased to know that the light is winning. Go get ‘em!

    (Oh yeah, and happy 5 years!)

    • 2 paris (im)perfect September 16, 2011 at 3:54 pm

      Thanks, Tanya. Your words of wisdom always perk me up!

      Because yes! The amazing moments far outweigh the time I spend with my personal pity parties :)

      I think we’re all allowed the right to honor and accept what we feel, even when it’s low and negative. But then press on, yes, back into the light!

  2. 3 Franck September 16, 2011 at 7:52 pm

    I can’t help about this “coup de moins bien”, Sion, because loneliness is my fuel, isolation is my privilege and mutism is my language. So, my line of happiness is flat. I am an average guy, middle aged man and constant little boy. If I were a color, I would be “gris bouillie” (scrawl) or green baboon (just for fun this one). I remind everyone that the first step towards divorce is called the marriage.

  3. 4 Oneika the Traveller September 16, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    Stay strong lady! Thinking of you but confident that you’ll be alright. You have so many things going for you (and recently checked out your new website and it is fab). Thinking of you and rooting for you!

  4. 6 Paris Paul P September 16, 2011 at 10:35 pm

    Here’s to another 5 happy years! Living in Paris is like cheese: it only gets better.

  5. 8 Tina September 19, 2011 at 2:00 am

    I’m bookmarking this post. You’re so encouraging! I needed that.

  6. 10 writingfeemail September 19, 2011 at 10:41 pm

    Healing the broken places only makes us stronger. You will bless this life change, if not now, someday. And for the humor – if you have to be in a turning point, what luck that it is in Paris! I can think of a lot of places that would be worse. But then, it looks like you already know that and are mending quite well. I congratulate your spirit and your writing. Way to go!
    Renee

  7. 12 Amy Kortuem September 21, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    I remember receiving my divorce decree in the mail. It was a day in June. I remember what I was wearing. I remember sinking down onto the settee on the porch and looking at the roses blooming.

    It was like something opened and allowed in a rush of “new.” Once the old had cleared, officially, legally, I changed quickly. My music career took off. I made better friends.

    You’re right, it’s an opening. Official clearing can only, only bring in the new.


Leave a Reply

paris (im)perfect?

Sion Dayson is paris (im)perfect. Writer, dreamer, I moved to France on – no exaggerating – a romantic whim. As you can imagine, a lot can go wrong (and very right!) with such a (non)plan. These are the (im)perfect stories that result.

Share the love!

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,213 other followers

Follow parisimperfect on Twitter


easyJet Holidays Paris City Break
Expat Blog website
Expat Women website
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker
Worldette – Ignite your travel life, make a difference, have fun!
© 2010-14 Copyright Sion Dayson ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,213 other followers

