New Website!

Hello friends,

I am delighted to unveil my new website today: siondayson.com/

Unveil makes it sound like I’ve had this in the works for awhile. Actually, as is my way, I just woke up yesterday and decided, gosh darn it, I need a real website. So I did it!

It’s been in the back of my mind for awhile. I love this blog, but it doesn’t encompass all of my writing work. I wanted a more professional place to showcase my full portfolio – and to send potential new clients. After all, I talk about all my faux pas and odd little quirks on here. I hope my personality shines through all of my work, but I don’t necessarily need my beauty blunders and bathrobe attire to be the first thing people learn about me.

I considered hiring someone to build my website. It’s so important to invest in oneself. But, it’s also totally empowering to do things yourself. So yesterday I set out to do just that. I’m pretty happy with the results. I’m no designer, but I think it provides a clear overview of all of my different projects. I think I was able to make it look like a website rather than a blog, too. I love teaching myself new things!

It’s the final week of August, so Parisians’ vacations are winding down. The full-on buzz of the rentree is just around the corner. This felt like my nod to the busy upcoming season. Projects galore are in store!

Don’t worry, though: I’ll still be here recounting my silly little tales for your amusement. The blog’s not going anywhere!

Check out my new website and feel free to let me know what you think: siondayson.com.

Do you have new projects on which you’re embarking? Tell me about them!

23 Responses to “New Website!”


  1. 1 writenaked August 26, 2011 at 3:04 pm

    Love your website! Very nice choice with the images. I bet you have the Shakespeare & Co one framed somewhere. :) I agree, it’s most empowering to create and maintain one’s own website–especially for writers when creative control is paramount.

  2. 5 Adam August 26, 2011 at 3:21 pm

    The website looks just fine, but I found the jumping from 3rd to 1st person a little strange. I think the Welcome page would be better in the 1st person too.

    • 6 paris (im)perfect August 26, 2011 at 3:37 pm

      Thanks, Adam. I was wondering about that, too, so I’m glad you brought it up. I just couldn’t bear to say “I’m an American writer living in Paris, France,” though! I wanted the bio to read as the usual 3rd person bio. But, if it’s a disconcerting leap, that’s definitely not good. I’ll think on it. Thanks for the input!

  3. 8 Barbara Hall August 26, 2011 at 3:58 pm

    Congratulations Sion! I like the look of it and its ease and clarity for all of the categories.

    About the welcome page in the first or third person: since websites/blogs are a person’s personal internet space, perhaps the welcome page in the first person is more appropriate (I hope you can hear my delicate tone of voice — I don’t wish to be critical sounding).

    Overall, love the website and it’s terrific to have a place to consolidate all of your writings.

    • 9 paris (im)perfect August 26, 2011 at 4:01 pm

      No worries, Barbara! I’m very open to feedback! (Have to be as a writer!) Adam suggested the same thing and I’ve already changed it. (I was probably doing that while you were leaving this comment ;) )

      So I’m glad to have more back-up that the first-person is the right move. I truly appreciate the suggestions!

  4. 10 Jennifer Flueckiger August 26, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    I think your new site looks great! I’ve been thinking about needing to do one myself. Thanks for the inspiriation. Looks like you have put August to good use :)

    • 11 paris (im)perfect August 26, 2011 at 5:04 pm

      Thanks, Jennifer! Maybe you’ll catch the bug, too! I’d been thinking about it and just decided I needed to do it already! I feel like August *has* been a very productive month. Exactly what I wanted! :)

  5. 12 Amy Kortuem August 26, 2011 at 4:56 pm

    Hi Sion – your site looks great! It’s very clean, easy to navigate, easy to find all the important information. I’m so impressed that you did this all yourself so quickly!

    Congrats!

    • 13 paris (im)perfect August 26, 2011 at 5:05 pm

      Thanks, Amy! To tell you the truth, I’m kind of impressed with myself, too! :) It was very cool how it ended up just being this very fun thing, building it from scratch. I’m glad people are finding it easy to use!

      Thanks for the support, as always!

  6. 14 Lee Isbell August 26, 2011 at 8:46 pm

    Hi Sion,
    The website looks great, and I’m with you about wanting to do it yourself. I like to do everything myself on my computer so I don’t have to call “help.” (Does this indicate a controlling personality?)

    It’s my misreading, but did anyone else wonder why one would want “copyright” services? It was clear once I clicked on the link and read two or three entries. Google was pretty much flummoxed over the spelling of “copywrite” so wonder whether a space or a hyphen might make it clearer.

    • 15 paris (im)perfect August 26, 2011 at 8:54 pm

      Hi Lee. Glad you like the site! Let’s look on the positive and not say that we’re controlling – just that we’re independent :)

      Good question about the terminology. Copyright and copywriting are totally different! “Copywrite” isn’t really used, so that’s probably why you didn’t find many entries. Type in copywriting and you’ll get tons of hits, though!

      Basically any written content can be considered “copy,” but copywriting is most often used to describe writing meant to persuade. So marketing or promotional materials, for example. I thought of just putting “writing services” because I am open to doing *any* kind of writing, but I really like the alliteration of all of the “C” words I have as my headers. And I really *do* feel most adept at copywriting. I guess the people who need copywriting services will know that’s what it’s called :)

  7. 17 lupinssupins August 27, 2011 at 11:51 am

    D’accord avec les autres! Your website looks great! And very impressive DIY work, too. I took advantage of the “share on facebook” button! I agree with your change to first person in the Welcome section, esp. given its title. If the tab’s title had been “Bio,” the 3rd person would have been OK, tho; just that “Welcome” implies a more personal intro. Like you, I also like the alliterative headings. A job very well done, with pride well-earned. I hope it brings you all the writing/editing business you want & need– enough to keep you happy & healthy, without tiring out your Muse for your own creative ventures. A fine line, indeed, for free-lancers, I’m sure.

    Your “Clips” section provided the bonus of leading me to your excellent 2009 newspaper op-ed on France’s version of “The Public Option.” I’m sorry for the sad circumstances which prompted your topic, the loss of your father-in-law, but I thought it was a brilliant article. [Of course I was fighting for the public option during that whole discouraging debate and share your dismay at the slandering of a public option, to say nothing of the best option, single-payer.] The very same summer as your 2009 op-ed, while also unemployed, I went through the U.S. version of your experience, with my late mother. Now THAT was nightmarish bureaucracy, at a heartbreaking time when one definitely does not need the added stress of endless, frustrating paperwork & phone-tag! Death panels, indeed! Americans are sure good at shooting themselves in the foot sometimes! [Must be all that 2nd Amendment machismo.]

    • 18 paris (im)perfect August 28, 2011 at 9:45 pm

      Oh, Mary, I’m so sorry to hear about your mother. Don’t even get me started on health care. (Really! I’d have too much to say!) How heartbreaking that you had to deal with the bureaucratic stress during such a hard time. It makes me so mad! I’m glad you appreciated the op-ed and thanks so much for sharing my site! I *do* hope it brings me some business. You’re right about the tricky balance, though! But as long as it’s writing (work or creative) I’m happy! :)

  8. 19 Franck August 28, 2011 at 11:44 am

    Very classeeee ! Just a little reproche. Why a black&white photo? It looks like the best nurse of the week portrait. We need colors! We’re living in the grey! We need colors!!! We need colors!!! (I am the very first protest march of the rentrée all by myself, my French molecules are emulsifying).

    • 20 paris (im)perfect August 28, 2011 at 9:48 pm

      Hmm. Well, if I get a better photo, I will definitely consider swapping. I certainly am not trying to portray myself as a nurse (?!)

      I *was* planning on using a color photo, but I simply don’t have that many good pictures of myself. (Choosing which one to post was actually the most difficult part of making the website!) I tried the one I have in color, but I thought it clashed too much with the colors of the books I have as my header. (The world map behind me has all sorts of different colors that didn’t match). I’m no visual maven, though, so I could be wrong.

      Isn’t black and white classy, though?

      Keep some of your energy for the rentree. Wouldn’t want to spend it all on this one protest :)

      • 21 Amy Kortuem August 29, 2011 at 7:01 pm

        Then this is the perfect excuse to get a new dress in the palette of your blog and arrange a photo shoot! The photo is lovely, yes, but I do think color would make you “come alive” a little more.

  9. 22 Sweet Freak August 28, 2011 at 8:53 pm

    Bravo – it looks great! And I’m so impressed that you just pretty much woke up and decided to do it… in a day! Genius. And inspiration. Way to go!

    • 23 paris (im)perfect August 28, 2011 at 9:49 pm

      Thanks, Amy! This came out of my new pact with myself. If I’m procrastinating on one task, I must at least do something productive. So, I was avoiding the novel, but decided to build a website. I’d say it was a good trade-off for that day!


Leave a Reply

paris (im)perfect?

Sion Dayson is paris (im)perfect. Writer, dreamer, I moved to France on – no exaggerating – a romantic whim. As you can imagine, a lot can go wrong (and very right!) with such a (non)plan. These are the (im)perfect stories that result.

Share the love!

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,239 other followers

Follow parisimperfect on Twitter


easyJet Holidays Paris City Break
Expat Blog website
Expat Women website
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker
Worldette – Ignite your travel life, make a difference, have fun!
© 2010-14 Copyright Sion Dayson ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,239 other followers

