Rest in Peace

Back in December, I talked about Tim, a college classmate who was fighting ALS (Lou Gherig’s Disease) and inspiring a whole awareness campaign in the process.

This morning, surrounded by family and friends, Tim passed away.

Today more than ever I am thinking about what matters. Tim was an incredible person and the loving response from community to his illness bore witness to the powerful good of the human spirit. We hear so many disheartening stories in this world, that sometimes we need reminders of that fact.

Tim and his Often Awesome Army turned his scary diagnosis and daily trials into something that transformed and touched many lives. I have been humbled and awed by their journey.

It can never be said too many times: love, kindness, compassion – this is what we need to hold onto. Every day is precious. Live each one to the full.

RIP, Tim. Holding all who loved him in the light.

The trailer for the award-winning web series that followed Tim and his wife Kaylan as they fought ALS:

16 Responses to “Rest in Peace”


  1. 1 Amy Kortuem August 23, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    Thinking of you…and crying over that amazing story.

  2. 3 Lindsey August 23, 2011 at 8:24 pm

    I’m sorry to learn of his passing, I recall the article you did about him a while back and was so moved by his story. I hope he can now be at peace. Hugs to you Sion.

  3. 5 Buffy August 23, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    I am so sorry for your loss.

    Buffy

    • 6 paris (im)perfect August 23, 2011 at 8:59 pm

      Thanks, Buffy. I’m passing on everyone’s condolences to those who were closest to him. His friends turned his illness into an amazing display of activism, awareness-raising, and outright love. Amazing.

  4. 7 Tanya August 23, 2011 at 10:42 pm

    Yes, I remember reading that post and watching the video and being overcome with emotion.

    How lucky was he to have such amazing friends and family; we are luckier still to know him or his story. My sincere condolences to his family and friends. They are truly amazing people who lifted his illness from a story of sadness to one of love and friendship.

    Thanks for sharing.

    • 8 paris (im)perfect August 24, 2011 at 12:56 am

      You hit the nail on the head, Tanya. It is a story of love and friendship as much as heartbreak. It’s why I am crying and feeling thankful at the same time. So sad. Yet love is what I feel most.

  5. 9 Buffy August 24, 2011 at 12:43 am

    I am sure our words won’t take away the pain, but at least they will know there is support out here. It is so sad when someone is taken so young in life. I know I am stating the obvious, but it is true.

    • 10 paris (im)perfect August 24, 2011 at 12:54 am

      Very true, Buffy. Tim was only 31. Heartbreaking. It’s been very touching watching how the love and even laughter continued to the end, though. I’ve been reading status updates the past few days and many of his friends were gathered together basically just being there with him and celebrating. It’s a lesson in humanity and love and I feel privileged to have known him – and seen such amazing care and kindness in action.

      I’ve been crying today, but I am feeling grateful, too. He inspired many.

  6. 11 Franck August 24, 2011 at 3:11 pm

    That is paradoxical, a young man dies, a sad story, much grief, despite that, reading his story, watching the video, I felt far from the ugliness of our world. That gentleman and his relatives were definitly the best that life has to offer. A lesson, a priviliege.

  7. 13 Tammee August 24, 2011 at 11:20 pm

    This is sad in the most wonderful way, For someone to be so brave and have so much love is awesome. I was feeling horribly sorry for myself today and this kicked my butt, but good. You should always find something good, no matter what the circumstances.

    Thanks for sharing this and I’m sorry for your loss and his family’s.

    And thanks for your blog which I have been reading for the last couple of months.

    RIP Tim

    • 14 paris (im)perfect August 24, 2011 at 11:49 pm

      Thanks for commenting, Tammee. It’s so true. I’ve been following Tim’s journey through the web series that came out every 2 weeks. It always kicked me in the butt, too, as you say. It puts things into perspective. There’s love in the world. So much love. Thanks for reading.

  8. 15 Sweet Freak August 26, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    Please pass on my condolences as well, Sion. I remember so well that post and the emotion it elicited. Thinking of you.


Leave a Reply

paris (im)perfect?

Sion Dayson is paris (im)perfect. Writer, dreamer, I moved to France on – no exaggerating – a romantic whim. As you can imagine, a lot can go wrong (and very right!) with such a (non)plan. These are the (im)perfect stories that result.

Share the love!

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,239 other followers

Follow parisimperfect on Twitter


easyJet Holidays Paris City Break
Expat Blog website
Expat Women website
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker
Worldette – Ignite your travel life, make a difference, have fun!
© 2010-14 Copyright Sion Dayson ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,239 other followers

