Paris Movie Walks – Free Giveaway!

I count myself lucky to have found home in two of the world’s best “cinematic” cities. Both New York and Paris have been captured on the silver screen myriad times. The thrill of recognition never fades for me. Each shot of a corner, street, or landmark that I know in real life makes my heart beat a little faster when I see it on film.

Author Michael Schürmann’s Paris Movie Walks: Ten Guided Tours Through The City of Lights! Camera! Action! offers detailed information for those of us who want to live the location, be on the set. Ten detailed itineraries follow in the footsteps of some of the most famous films that use Paris as backdrop.

Though is Paris ever just backdrop? We know it’s actually a star.

The author does, too, as he meticulously maps his way around the City of Light, pointing out everything from the major monuments to hidden gems that have appeared on the screen and putting them in cinematic context.

It’s hard to decide which the book makes you want to do more – watch all of the movies or take a stroll around Paris.

The book is really a great marriage of the two.

Besides specific and straightforward information on the movie locations, Schürmann also drops in short, useful sections like “May ’68: The Modern French ‘Revolution’” and “The Story Behind Sacre Coeur” to add to an already informative guide.

The publisher has offered to give away free copies of Paris Movie Walks to three lucky blog readers.

To enter for a chance to win, leave a comment below or sign up to receive this blog by email if you haven’t already. Feel free to let us know your favorite French film, though a simple “I want to win” is always acceptable, too.

Entries are open through Sunday, May 29. I’ll announce winners on Monday, May 30.

Good luck!

For more information on the book and author, check out the Paris Movie Walks website. Word is that a Smartphone app for a few of the walks is also in the works!

52 Responses to “Paris Movie Walks – Free Giveaway!”


  1. 1 Michal May 23, 2011 at 9:44 am

    Too early on a Monday morning to contemplate my favorite French film… but… I REALLY WANT TO WIN! This looks like a really great guide book. I’m really happy to know its out there.

  2. 3 kyliemac May 23, 2011 at 10:00 am

    I have to say I’m a big fan of Jean-Pierre Jeunet and loved “La Cite des Enfants Perdus”.

    I just finished a class in which we watched about a dozen or so French films – at least half were filmed in Paris.

    It amuses me how places look so different on the big screen – like how they changed the café they used in “Amélie”.

  3. 5 Lee Isbell May 23, 2011 at 10:53 am

    Sounds like a fun book. Does he have a walk today, my last in Paris? (No need for serious answer to this … I’m about to try to find a park bench or cafe to sit on/in and watch the world go by.) So please enter me!

  4. 7 Lupinssupins May 23, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    Je veux gagner! So many favorite French films– incl. Grandes Illusions, Jean de la Florette & Manon des Sources, which are NOT set in Paris. But, in keeping with the subject at hand, my favorites which ARE set in Paris are many and varied: Le Ballon Rouge, Les Quatre Cents Coups, Paris Brule-t-il?, Diabolo Menthe (Peppermint Soda) and, of course, Amélie! Of course, there are also the English language films in which Paris is either a star: The Man on the Eiffel Tower [w/ a young Burgess Meredith in some scary, if quite grainy, chase scenes, and the great Charles Laughton as Inspector Maigret] or a featured player: The Lavender Hill Mob, with one of the most hilarious chase scenes in filmdom, starring Alec Guinness, Stanley Holloway and la Tour Eiffel. Not to mention, since we’ll always have Paris, Casablanca [even if all its Paris scenes are done in the blue-screen format of its day, rather than the real thing.] Note I do not include such Hollywood Schlock-busters as Singin’ in the Rain.
    Oh, and did I mention? I would love to win this book! All the more to add to my “if I ever get back to Paris” to-do list.

  5. 9 Tara Lynne Groth May 23, 2011 at 12:28 pm

    I think this book was written for me. :) I’d have to say Breathless as one of my favs, but I also love Cleo From 5 to 7.

    • 10 paris (im)perfect May 24, 2011 at 12:17 pm

      I watched both those movies the summer before I moved to Paris. I had the written transcript in hand as I was trying to use it as a way to learn French more than anything. I should go back now that I actually understand French and watch for pure pleasure!

  6. 11 katemai May 23, 2011 at 1:34 pm

    Sounds fabulous! Pick me, please!

  7. 13 Patrick Ross May 23, 2011 at 1:37 pm

    What a great contest, Sion!

    I planned to reflect on this a bit but my favorite came right to mind. Not sure if it counts because it’s a short film, but The Red Balloon (Le Ballon Rouge) by Albert Lamorisse really moved me when I first saw it as a kid, and apparently is still front-of-mind even though I haven’t thought about it in years. That’s my vote!

  8. 15 LaLa May 23, 2011 at 2:05 pm

    Oh my, what a fabulous competition – if I don’t win this is certainly on my list to purchase :)

    Favourite film – ah, that would be like naming my favourite child! :)

    Fingers crossed!

  9. 17 Linda May 23, 2011 at 3:01 pm

    Too many films to catalog! I’d love to win the book, and I can’t wait to hear about the smartphone app! Thanks for keeping us, ‘in the loop’, Sion!

    • 18 paris (im)perfect May 24, 2011 at 12:20 pm

      Thanks, Linda! Yeah, that’s cool about the smartphone app. I’m still in the dark ages (or, I prefer to think, still living in a black and white film) so I don’t have a smartphone, but it sounds like a super good idea!

  10. 19 Jeff Hester May 23, 2011 at 3:35 pm

    This sounds like a great guidebook! My girlfriend and I will be in Paris for three weeks beginning June 22. It’s my second time, but her first, and we’re really looking forward to it.

    I’d love to win the book, and would put it to good use!

  11. 21 sharoninavolvo May 23, 2011 at 6:07 pm

    It all began with Amelie & then 3 visits to Paris, the last 2 after an expat friend moved there…Pretty much will watch any film about France, or Paris in particular, tho now my friend has moved to the South of France?! So as I want to return (as many times as I can) would love to win a Paris Movie Walks Guidebook -which funny enough my friend attempted to take me to all the Amelie spots she could, we were at the grocers in Montmarte for instance…Anyways, Bon Chance to all?! ;o)

  12. 23 ksam May 23, 2011 at 6:51 pm

    Sounds like a really fun book! And I just saw Midnight in Paris – the movie itself was so-so, but the scenery was fantastic!

  13. 25 chris colyer May 23, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    I would love to have this movie to show the kids that I take to France every 2 years.
    Chris colyer

  14. 27 Susanne May 23, 2011 at 6:59 pm

    I am a huge fan of French movies and I would love to win. My favorites range from Nouvelle Vague classics such as the depicted A bout de souffle to Alain Resnais’ L’année dernière à Marienbad to Fanfan et Alexandre to Les Chansons d’Amour to…the list is almost endless!

  15. 29 Julianna May 23, 2011 at 7:11 pm

    Without a doubt, my favorite French film is “A Man and a Woman” (“Un Homme et Une Femme”) from the mid-60s. I was only 18 at the time and in the throes of “first love”; Anouk Aimee and Jean Louis Trintignant seemed to me the epitome of a romantic, “adult” couple in the most romantic of settings, and with the most beautiful soundtrack as accompaniment.

    P.S. I would love a copy of Michael Schurmann’s “Paris Movie Walks: Ten Guided Tours Through The City of Lights! Camera! Action!”, and I’m not above begging — PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE!!!

    • 30 paris (im)perfect May 24, 2011 at 12:25 pm

      Oh, I’m going to have to watch that one again. That was another movie I watched without subtitles and French transcript in hand to try to learn the language. I’ll have to revisit it again. Sounds swoon-worthy!

  16. 31 Nancy B. May 23, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    Love your blog. Love Paris. And would love to win this book for my summer visit a Paris!

  17. 33 SAS Fiction Girl May 23, 2011 at 11:29 pm

    Oh my; this is embarrassing. The first “Paris” movie that sprang to mind was “The Devil Wears Prada.” (Paris makes an appearance toward the end of the movie.)
    I can’t think of a real French movie. My sister the Francophile would be better at this! -Jen

    • 34 paris (im)perfect May 24, 2011 at 12:27 pm

      Haha. No worries, Jen. I do the same thing, believe it or not! I think it’s equally as cool that Paris shows up in popular movies, too. (Sex and the City anyone?)

      The book in question points out locations used in Hollywood blockbusters, too! :)

  18. 35 Susan Carter May 24, 2011 at 3:40 am

    I do love Paris!

  19. 37 Melonie A. May 24, 2011 at 5:12 pm

    I Want to Win!!! I enjoy reading your blog from the states.

  20. 39 Carole May 24, 2011 at 6:20 pm

    Nikita is my favorite French film! Who said romance was dead?

  21. 41 Marge AAnderson May 24, 2011 at 6:24 pm

    Interesting post, Sion. You sure do have a great way with words!

  22. 43 Aleksandra May 25, 2011 at 9:13 am

    Hey guys,

    I have recently moved to Paris to my bf. I am kind of lost here…I left my job, friends and family, not to mention the language (I barely speak French). It’s blogs and stuff you recommend that keep me here a bit more positive. On weekends I often visit places you write about. I would be more than happy to visit some movie sites too :) Keep on going with your blog and all the best!

    Kisses,

    Aleks

    • 44 paris (im)perfect May 25, 2011 at 10:16 pm

      Thanks, Aleksandra. It can be very overwhelming when you first arrive in a new place – especially as you’ve had to leave so much behind. I’m so glad you like visiting this blog and it makes you feel a little better. Hang in there!

  23. 45 Paris Karin (an alien parisienne) May 25, 2011 at 2:42 pm

    I’m in! This has been on my Amazon Wishlist for a while. :) I have a few favorite Paris movies, but I honestly have to say I think that they have all been usurped by Woody Allen’s latest, “Midnight in Paris.” Not only is Woody Allen one of my most favorite filmmakers, but he has made a film of my new adoptive home AND my favorite era of history, to boot! (And made interesting commentary on all of that!) I adored the film!

    (LOL – I just read you did not care for it! That’s okay. I shall still like you. :D As I know you will me. It’s nice when people can have differences in books, music, and film! Diversity in action!)

    • 46 paris (im)perfect May 25, 2011 at 10:18 pm

      Ha. Yeah, I still like you even though you liked that film :) I so wanted to like it….just really, really didn’t.

      But it’s *awesome* that people have such different tastes, I think. As a writer it’s kind of cool to remember that, too. If I get rejected one place…well, doesn’t mean someone else won’t like my writing.

      Look to the positive :)

      Good luck! (Hmm, should I be building an Amazon Wishlist?)

  24. 47 Sariah May 25, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    Ohohoh I love giveaways! I have lots of favourite French movies, but La Faute à Fidel (Blame it on Fidel) is always near the top.

  25. 49 aidan May 26, 2011 at 11:47 am

    Sion,
    This book looks great. I’d love to have a copy….one of my favorites is Before Sunset. I’m a romantic and ethan reminds me of mon mari a bit.
    aidan x

  26. 51 Ann Ellanson May 28, 2011 at 9:56 pm

    I will be visiting Paris for the very first time next month. I have a great love of classic film and can not think of a better way to explore Paris than with your guide. I would be thrilled if I was to be chosen to recieve a copy. Merci, Ann


Leave a Reply

paris (im)perfect?

Sion Dayson is paris (im)perfect. Writer, dreamer, I moved to France on – no exaggerating – a romantic whim. As you can imagine, a lot can go wrong (and very right!) with such a (non)plan. These are the (im)perfect stories that result.

Share the love!

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,213 other followers

Follow parisimperfect on Twitter


easyJet Holidays Paris City Break
Expat Blog website
Expat Women website
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker
Worldette – Ignite your travel life, make a difference, have fun!
© 2010-14 Copyright Sion Dayson ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,213 other followers

