In the Past Imperfect

For the second day in a row, I had a lovely writer double date. Yesterday I met up with Karin of An Alien Parisienne and Isabelle Solal at Buttes Chaumont, my favorite Paris park.

Topics of conversation were mainly about writing craft, though there was a fair bit of girly talk, too.

Isabelle recently took the plunge and put her debut novel directly onto Amazon’s Kindle Store. As I’ve been watching the current traditional vs self-publishing show-down with rapt attention, you better believe I’ll be following her journey. I’ll borrow any tips should I decide to go that route.

I’ve already learned from Isabelle that I don’t actually need a Kindle to read an ebook for Kindle. (Who knew?) You can download a copy to your computer.

I haven’t yet had a chance to read In the Past Imperfect, but if it’s as light and bright as Isa, it should be fun. It’s an updated take on Persuasion with a twist – and transported to France.

You can download a free sample from the book’s Facebook page then visit Amazon should you like what you see. (She’s also on Amazon UK and DE, too).

Good luck, Isa!

In other news, I’m heading to Istanbul tomorrow. Even cooler, my family will join me there! Mom, dad, sister, niece. The last two live in Bahrain, so I’m also looking forward to getting an in-person update as to what’s really going on with all the craziness in that country. We’re living through interesting times.

I’ll see you back here in just over a week.

Have a good one!

16 Responses to “In the Past Imperfect”


  1. 1 Lindsey April 24, 2011 at 11:08 am

    Been curious about her book, will check it out!

    Have a safe trip and enjoy Istanbul! I’ll be heading there at the end of May so I expect you to give me tips!!

    • 2 paris (im)perfect April 24, 2011 at 11:36 am

      Thanks, Lindsey! Oh, end of May sounds good. I’m shocked to see that I’ll be leaving Paris with temps in the 70s to go to Istanbul where it’s still in the 50s. Unexpected! I’m sure it will still be grand, though :)

  2. 3 Ann April 24, 2011 at 11:27 am

    How fun! And what a great title. My husband has been a Kindle addict and I’m kind of jealous. I’m going to download this and steal it from him.

    • 4 paris (im)perfect April 24, 2011 at 11:37 am

      Yeah, I really need to get my hands on a Kindle just to *try.* I still have no idea what it’s actually like to read from an ereader.

      Also, if you can make your way through the German site, the book’s only 2.83 euros over there!

  3. 5 Res April 24, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    Thanks Sion, it was so wonderful to see you girls yesterday and have a proper writers’ chat! I’ve been missing that…

  4. 7 Barbara Hall April 24, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    Bon voyage Sion. I hope to visit Turkey one day as it is definitely on my bucket list.

  5. 8 Lee Isbell April 24, 2011 at 6:51 pm

    Hi Sion,
    Love my Kindle, especially for travel. Last fall when I took a class in France, I had both my texts in the Kindle, very much lightening the luggage. Also good for eating out alone. Or can this be done in Paris? It can be read hands-free while your hands are involved in eating tasks. It does, however, lead to lots of spur of the moment buying, due to the instant gratification of receiving your book NOW.

  6. 9 Stephanie April 24, 2011 at 11:06 pm

    I love Buttes Chaumont – in fact I was there today and it was packed and wonderful. But it’s even better with some girls to chat with over picnicing and lounging.

    Will have to check out her book and I wish you the best of travels to Istanbul! Have a wonderful, inspiring time!

  7. 10 Paris Karin (an alien parisienne) April 25, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    It was really great to see both you and Isa, and such stimulating conversation, too! I’m so glad you gave her book a shout-out here. I have got to find a good way to read it as I’ve now talked to Isa about it so much, I am curious to know the story. It sounds like a good one. :)

    Safe and happy travels to you, Sion, and see you in the park again soon, I hope!

    Take care.
    Karin

  8. 12 Michael Johnson April 26, 2011 at 10:17 am

    Bonjour Sion:
    I’ve been following your blog for quite a while now – and I wrote you months ago saying how you inspired me to move to Paris.
    I’ve been in Paris two months now (yes – I made it) and I too have a blog. I write mine in French (or at least, I try to) to help me with learning the language.
    Give it a look some time and let me know what you think. And I hope our paths cross someday.
    ciao,
    Michael

    http://jetedispas.weebly.com/

    • 13 paris (im)perfect May 3, 2011 at 1:30 pm

      Wow, Michael. You made it! Congratulations! Also kudos to you for blogging in French. Just not something I can even imagine! I hope you’re enjoying your time here. Good on you for taking the leap!

  9. 14 Danielle April 28, 2011 at 9:53 pm

    Sion:

    I know you have left for Turkey but I just wanted to thank you about posting your friend’s experiences wit self-publishing. She has sold several copies of her book and it must be a good feeling.

    It also prompted me to hawk my own book online from the Amazon kindle website as you don’t actually need a device (Android, iPhone, iPad and a computer will also do). Thank you for I would have never known about this program if it wasn’t for you.

    Not trying at advertise, but if anyone is interested, my novella is in the vein of old-school Jackie Collins about Hollywood in the early 2000s. The first installment is “The Proposal”; the series is The Beautiful People.

    Have you ever thought about making a little money on the side by endorsing writer’s books sold exclusively on Kindle, Sion? You’re in the perfect position to do so!

    Thank you for sharing and I hope I haven’t broken some sort of protocal. Just aiming for a little cheap publicity but Sion and her website have nothing to do with what I just posted. However, she was my inspiration!

    Enjoy your vacation!

    Dani

  10. 15 Al_Hoefer April 30, 2011 at 6:17 pm

    My wife and I were in Buttes Chaumont in January a couple of years ago – snowing – had a wonderful time with the place to ourselves except for a couple of brides getting their pictures taken in strapless gowns!

    Check out Seth Godin for some ideas about books and publishing, especially in this virtual world.

    Seth’s Blog:

    http://sethgodin.typepad.com/seths_blog/

    I’m working through ‘Practical Paris’ by Karen Henrich on my iPad using iBooks (which is a PDF reader as well :) – also have books on the Kindle and Nook apps for iPad – memory’s the limit!

    Karen’s site:

    http://nuitblanchetours.com/

    Love your blog,
    AH3


Leave a Reply

paris (im)perfect?

Sion Dayson is paris (im)perfect. Writer, dreamer, I moved to France on – no exaggerating – a romantic whim. As you can imagine, a lot can go wrong (and very right!) with such a (non)plan. These are the (im)perfect stories that result.

Share the love!

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,114 other followers

Follow parisimperfect on Twitter


easyJet Holidays Paris City Break
Expat Blog website
Expat Women website
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker
Worldette – Ignite your travel life, make a difference, have fun!
© 2010-14 Copyright Sion Dayson ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,114 other followers

