Paris Bloggers Unite

To think, this time last year paris (im)perfect was barely off the ground and I was not yet ensconced in the blogging community.

Right now I realize that my (very limited) social life would hover near nonexistent if not for blogger meet-ups.

A couple weeks ago, I attended the largest “Tweetup” I’d ever been to (yes, I kind of laughed at the term at first, too – a meetup for people on Twitter. Now it’s a normal part of my vocabulary!)

We took over the back part of a nice cafe in the 6th, our bubbly Anglophone enthusiasm turning the usually discreet cafe into something of a disco (ok, that’s an exaggeration. But you know, we were definitely, um, noticeable).

Paris Bloggers/Tweeters Take Over Another Resto

The more the group grows, the more I think about the power of numbers. When I first moved here, I was stunned at how many times I received withering looks because of my loud laugh. This may be the land of joie de vivre, but I felt my joy was definitely trying to be suppressed.

Come with a whole passel of people who also smile and laugh easily, though, and there’s safety in numbers (but, of course, the looks remain, but directed at everyone!)

I think a lot of expats arrive thinking they do not only want to hang out with other expats. We try to make French friends – sometimes we even do! – which is as it should be. But at a certain point, it’s nice to simply relax with people who understand the unique struggles of living outside your own country.

The danger, of course, is that you might end up hanging out with people only because they speak English – and is that really a reason to spend time with someone?

Fortunately, the Paris bloggers I know happen to be awesome – people I would want to know anyway!

Tanya, honorary Paris blogger poses with mini-cupcakes

I met two more bloggers, Opal and Tanya (who lives in Nice, but is immediately crowned honorary Paris blogger the second she gets here) for cupcakes.

You might remember that I tried the cheesecake, not the cupcakes at Scarlett’s Bakery last time.

Well, in the name of journalistic integrity, I have to confess we were not impressed by the mini-cupcakes. The cake itself was too dense, whereas we were expecting light and fluffy. So in this case, Adam was right – these cupcakes were prettier than they taste. Dommage!

We had a lovely chat, anyway, and the tea was good (all from Palais des Thes).

(I told my friend who I originally went to the Bakery with. She asked the all important question: so good cupcakes/so-so service or good service/so-so cupcake – which wins? Well, we’re going to get cupcakes to go from Cupcakes & Co, eat them in the park next door, then sit down for tea at Scarlett’s. Voila! We can have our cake and eat it, too – all in the neighborhood!)

Anyway, back to the Paris bloggers. My final meetup was with about 15 or so bloggers in a lovely apartment south of Luxembourg Gardens. The kind of place that drives it home once more – yeah, I don’t know if this will ever be my Paris life. I always love a sneak peek, though!

I am back to hibernation mode now.

The temperatures seem to be softening a bit here. I am ready to slough off the awful winter blues, but part of me hesitates. The cold and gray keep me rooted to my apartment, working away.

What will I do when spring comes and we can have meetups along the canal or in some gorgeous park? (There goes my productivity!)

Kasia did a great write-up of the first Tweetup I mentioned.

Tom created a list of everyone’s Paris blog who was in attendance if you want to get hooked on others!

12 Responses to “Paris Bloggers Unite”


  1. 1 Kasia Dietz February 4, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    I cannot agree more that our blogger/Twitter world is a special one. Paris expats unite! (and all those in other parts of France too ;))

  2. 3 Sarah S. February 4, 2011 at 4:26 pm

    Next time you’re Stateside, we’ll do a cupcake and pastry sampling in Harlem…our croissants can’t compare, but cupcakes here are pretty dope!

    I admire your cyberconnectedness, too!

  3. 5 Franck February 4, 2011 at 8:07 pm

    Hello!

    I hate people who laugh loud in one of MY cafés. I am a very discreet man. My friend nicknamed me GREY. I could walk behind a poster without unstick it but that is not the point here!

    I hate people who laugh loud because I can not help thinking that I did not choose the right dish on the menu!

    Franck.

  4. 7 Tanya in Transition February 6, 2011 at 6:32 pm

    LOL!!! Thanks for including me. I still am laughing about our petit meet-up. It was great meeting you and Opal! Shame about those cupcakes though…

    We (those of us in PACA) will be having our own little meet-up in March and I can’t wait as I’m dying to put a voice to the words I read. And really, as good as it is to integrate into French society, sometimes you just need to express yourself in English.

    As for your laugh, ah, those two women who were next to us obviously had something to say…but I’m glad that you disregard the looks and comments. Your laugh is fun and reflects your personality. The rest of them can just go fly a kite!

    • 8 paris (im)perfect February 6, 2011 at 10:28 pm

      How do you say go fly a kite in French? Maybe I should start using that….though I’m sure that idiom doesn’t translate and they’ll just think I’m even weirder to be talking about kites! :)

      So great meeting you finally! Have fun at your PACA meet-up!

  5. 9 Oneika the Traveller February 9, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    Hi hi!! I’m here via Tanya and Opal’s blogs- I’m a francophile who lived for two years in France and miss it all the time!

    I’m currently in Hong Kong and jealous of your Paris blogger meetups! I don’t think that there is a strong expat blogging community in Hong Kong, which is a total bummer! I’m moving to London this fall so I’m hoping to get hooked up with the blogging community there.

    Anyway, I’m gonna have fun catching up on your blog. Happy blog and Paris anniversary!

    http://oneika-the-traveller.blogspot.com

    • 10 paris (im)perfect February 9, 2011 at 12:34 pm

      Oh hello! Any friend of Tanya and Opal’s is a friend of mine! Your blog is amazing! Your travels even more so! Wowza

      Well, if you don’t find the blogging community you want in London, Paris is just a 2 hour Eurostar away! Come join us! Thanks for stopping by!

  6. 11 Katrina Kostik March 1, 2011 at 3:24 pm

    It’s so nice to have this group of Paris bloggers that we can all lean on when we feel a little homesick… I am sad that I missed the last meetup! I hope to go to the next ones, and I can’t wait to meet all of you!


Leave a Reply

paris (im)perfect?

Sion Dayson is paris (im)perfect. Writer, dreamer, I moved to France on – no exaggerating – a romantic whim. As you can imagine, a lot can go wrong (and very right!) with such a (non)plan. These are the (im)perfect stories that result.

Share the love!

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,108 other followers

Follow parisimperfect on Twitter


easyJet Holidays Paris City Break
Expat Blog website
Expat Women website
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker
Worldette – Ignite your travel life, make a difference, have fun!
© 2010-14 Copyright Sion Dayson ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,108 other followers

