Jingle Bells (and 100 Posts!)

Jingle bells. Today’s title is not a holdover from the holidays, nor some last desperate grasping to that “special time of year.”

No, it refers to a certain quirky detail I’ve noticed since my return to Paris. A small, but funny mystery.

My jetlagged haze might have kept me from registering this the first few days, but since late last week, I’ve been hearing an odd jingling of bells at random intervals throughout the day. The sound is audible in my apartment, though it’s not in my apartment. I have no idea the source.

These are not church bells. Nor are they like clanging cow bells (though they’re much closer to this!)

You know I don’t shy away from mysteries (and have been known to be sneaky), but I don’t even know what I’d go around doing to try to figure this one out. Listen behind neighbors’ doors? What good would that do? I already know what it sounds like! I want to see this thing.

I’m also lamenting my failure of imagination (and I call myself a fiction writer!) I cannot for the life of me imagine what these clattering bells might be.

The best explanation I can come up with is that they’re somehow attached to a toilet and they ring every time there’s a flush. The frequency of the bells, their duration, and the fact that I hear them most clearly in my own bathroom have led me to this conclusion.

Shake em...
stoolspotting

I can’t quite fathom the contraption, though. What would clang this way? What exactly does a flushing toilet need bells for? Is this some water-saving device? Does it simply spread joy in the loo?

Another theory is that it’s somehow tied to the elevator. Some squeaky machinery that for some reason, sounds like bells to me.

I’m letting go of the questioning for now, though. Kind of a goal for this new year: accept the random, quirky joys, these little mysteries of life. Nothing wrong with jingling bells each time someone’s on the john, right? Or an extra lift in the elevator. (What will they think of next?)

Any theories? A bit afraid to ask as I’m sure there’s a simple, obvious answer and I’ll be embarrassed by my silliness. Then again, I am silly.

Any random, wonderful little mysteries in your life these days?

Oh yes! And this is post #100! Another joyful thing to me, too. Thanks to Keith for doing a nice little write-up for my blogiversary. I wonder what I can celebrate next.

16 Responses to “Jingle Bells (and 100 Posts!)”


  1. 1 Linda January 17, 2011 at 7:31 pm

    Congratulations on your 100th post! Now,about those bells…

  2. 3 Susan January 17, 2011 at 10:15 pm

    Could it be a windchime of some sort?

    • 4 paris (im)perfect January 17, 2011 at 11:45 pm

      Good idea! It passed through my head, but it definitely sounds like it’s inside the apartment (though, I guess, maybe some people would hang windchimes in an apartment?) I’ve looked out and I don’t see that the lucky few people with balconies in my complex have them, either.

  3. 5 Fiona January 17, 2011 at 11:36 pm

    Could they be on someone’s door? Some folks hang bells on the door and train the dog to ring the bell when s/he wants to go out. So if you have a neighbor with a dog, it may be that you’re hearing the bells when s/he asks to take a walk.

    • 6 paris (im)perfect January 17, 2011 at 11:48 pm

      Wow, didn’t know that. Thanks! I really *hope* no one has a dog in this apartment complex – only because the apartments are so small and I’d feel bad for the poor thing!

      Actually, I take that back. Maybe only my apartment is small. I have glimpsed other people’s apartments and they’re quite spacious!

  4. 7 Drew January 18, 2011 at 2:06 am

    I think that there’s a dead clown in the elevator shaft. And every time the elevator goes up or down, his wrist and toe bells ring.

    Oh, and congrats on your 100th post in an awesome blog!

  5. 10 fabuleuxdestinbrenna January 19, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    Congrats on your 100th post! I am almost at 50…

  6. 12 Ann January 24, 2011 at 11:31 am

    Congrats on your 100th post, Sion! In my imagination, the bells are hanging around the neck of a fluffy but grumpy kitty who wants to rid herself of them but has learned to live with the din.

  7. 13 Dihead January 12, 2012 at 10:09 pm

    I have this same noise in my apartment!!! although it sounds like its coming from my living room… any other theories besides it being a ghost? I don’t want to move…

  8. 15 GirlWith January 24, 2012 at 6:41 pm

    I *think* the noise may be steam in the pipes… I’m not totally convinced though…

    • 16 paris (im)perfect January 24, 2012 at 6:50 pm

      Wow, I love hearing this theory a year after the post! Awesome! I think the noise (which doesn’t happen as much, but is still present sometimes) *does* have to do with the pipes. I’ve gotten used to it :)


Leave a Reply

paris (im)perfect?

Sion Dayson is paris (im)perfect. Writer, dreamer, I moved to France on – no exaggerating – a romantic whim. As you can imagine, a lot can go wrong (and very right!) with such a (non)plan. These are the (im)perfect stories that result.

Share the love!

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,271 other followers

Follow parisimperfect on Twitter


easyJet Holidays Paris City Break
Expat Blog website
Expat Women website
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker
Worldette – Ignite your travel life, make a difference, have fun!
© 2010-14 Copyright Sion Dayson ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,271 other followers

