Snow Shots (and Being Sneaky)

In front of my apartment

Where am I?

Still in Paris, but of late I wonder. What is this “Winter Wonderland”?

The park next door

(Slightly indecent) smiley snow car

Snow is predicted this whole week with temperatures to reach as low as -6 degrees. (Ok, that’s in Celsius to be dramatic, but still! 21 degrees Fahrenheit if you want the conversion).

 

I much prefer snow to rain – what we usually get around these parts – but please let me complain just a wee bit: it’s freezing!

I continue to be a hermit, hunkering down in my (poorly-insulated) apartment, but sometimes I do have to leave for basic staples.

Good thing the cold can’t kill my curiosity. On the way to the pharmacy I walked by this:

Maybe not the most beckoning of images, right?

But wait! What’s this? The door is open!

You know me by now, don’t you? What do you think I did?

You are correct. I went in, of course. You just never know…

And as I suspected: cuteness lay behind that battered door:

I love these narrow little streets, the lovely residences behind the rough doors. Paris is great at this kind of thing.

(Almost) secret street

I didn’t tarry for too long as I saw someone starting to walk down. While I always take a sneak peak, I’m always afraid of getting yelled at, too. Call me a timid adventurer. Or a bold scaredy-cat. Not sure which.

 

And so, for this Tuesday’s TIP, I urge you to *always* open the door and see what you find.

Even closed doors in Paris are often no match. Door code, you say? I am not allowed? During the day, the code is often switched off. If you see a round button without any marking, press it – the door might just open!

Pleased with my discovery, I still hurried back home. I mean, it was still cold out. And I had already been a whole two blocks!

Happy exploring!

19 Responses to “Snow Shots (and Being Sneaky)”


  1. 1 Adam November 30, 2010 at 11:31 am

    What you need is the magic key that the postmen have – then you can get into almost all of the buildings in Paris!

    My tip in situations like this? Take photos with your smartphone. If people come along, you can always pretend you’re calling someone or looking for a code or address!

  2. 3 ksam November 30, 2010 at 11:39 am

    LOL – that “smiley snow car” is really a male member peeing on someone’s face.

    And I’m the same way – I always love peeking in slightly open doors and discovering what’s hidden behind them!

    • 4 paris (im)perfect November 30, 2010 at 1:12 pm

      LOL. I *thought* there was something indecent about it. Took too quick a shot to really notice. Thanks for pointing out the obvious. Of course, this is paris (IM)perfect, so I enjoy revealing the, ahem, not so perfect sides of the city :)

  3. 5 Sab November 30, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    Oh, that IS a cute little passage way you’ve found there! You don’t remember where it is do you – which street, I’ve got the number ;-) – I’m intrigued. I’m also in London, missing the Paris snow but seeing some British fluff…

    • 6 paris (im)perfect November 30, 2010 at 1:10 pm

      Hi Sab. Oh, I remember *exactly* where it is! On Boulevard Charonne, not too far from the Avron metro stop. How does British fluff compare to Paris fluff? (Wait, that sounds like I might be asking about something entirely different :) )

  4. 7 Lindsey November 30, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    What an adorable find!! You just never know what lays behind these Parisian doors!

  5. 9 Sab November 30, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    The British SNOW is pretty wimpy right now, but then I’m in a boring suburb of London, not some Scottish mountain or deep countryside, where I understand they’re up to their necks.
    Avron? Hmmm. It’s true that over in the 20th(?) there are some surprising finds. I’m doing a walk in the 20th in January if you want to come and be a local ‘expert’ for a coupla hours ;-) ! (The Walk: http://www.meetup.com/Paris-If-You-Please/calendar/15577016/ )

    As for British ‘fluff’, well I did grow up in the UK, so that conversation would probably take a bit longer.

    • 10 paris (im)perfect November 30, 2010 at 1:54 pm

      LOL. Yes, we’ll leave the ‘fluff’ conversation for another time.
      And yes! You will find TONS of surprising finds in the 20th! I am literally right on the border of the 11th and 20th, so I feel super cool :)

      Your meet-up looks fun! I’ll see if I’m over my jetlag enough to join you that day – will just be coming back from the States.

      Oh – and the Paris snow is pretty wimpy, too. Don’t feel like you’re missing out on TOO much.

  6. 11 Kind Reader November 30, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    That street looks so charming. I nearly felt like I discovered it with you which was a real treat. Thank you. Here in the middle of Canada we are still digging ourselves out of snow banks. The days seemed calm and still fall-ish feeling and suddenly we were staring into a blizzard in all its wind and fury. And it keeps snowing…every so often I hear another car getting stuck in a drift in the alley…sigh. Though it creates great conditions for hermitude too…:)

    • 12 paris (im)perfect November 30, 2010 at 11:32 pm

      Hey, Holly. Yeah, I was going to add a note saying that I know the little dusting we had is nothing compared to where a lot of people living this live. And I thought of you in Canada! But obviously it’s a big deal for where I am. Paris ain’t Canada :)

      I’m so glad you felt like you were discovering the street, too. Totally what I was after! Hopefully I’ll stumble onto more gems soon! Happy hermitude!

  7. 13 forest November 30, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    love it! so not what i expected to see you find behind that door…but i should know by now (guess, I have to boldly open more doors myself!) :)

  8. 15 PigletinFrance November 30, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    I like “bold scaredy-cat” best as it’s so contradictory it’s amazing and makes me smile.

    Have you had much more snow today? When you published this I read it on my phone whilst in the car (not driving!) and I was jealous… it was cold in Lyon but no snow. Now I have re-read and we have at least 10 cm’s of the white fluffy stuff in our backyard.

    • 16 paris (im)perfect November 30, 2010 at 11:34 pm

      Hi there. Bold scaredy-cat it is then. :)

      No snow today, but that’s just fine by me. You should be more jealous of the *blue sky* we had! Or, maybe that’s just me. Blue sky in a gray Paris winter is just the best.

      Snow will be back tomorrow, I think.

      Glad you got the snow you wanted in Lyon!

  9. 17 Sarah Morgan December 2, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    I love it! Makes me think of Lucy going through the wardrobe in The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe! Thanks for posting pictures of the snow – I keep hearing that it’s Baltic and that there’s snow, but I’m dying to see it accumulated in the city. Ah, c’est tres calme…


  1. 1 A Taste of Garlic Trackback on January 13, 2011 at 5:02 am
  2. 2 Jingle Bells (and 100 Posts!) « paris (im)perfect Trackback on January 17, 2011 at 10:10 am

Leave a Reply

paris (im)perfect?

Sion Dayson is paris (im)perfect. Writer, dreamer, I moved to France on – no exaggerating – a romantic whim. As you can imagine, a lot can go wrong (and very right!) with such a (non)plan. These are the (im)perfect stories that result.

Share the love!

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,212 other followers

Follow parisimperfect on Twitter


easyJet Holidays Paris City Break
Expat Blog website
Expat Women website
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker
Worldette – Ignite your travel life, make a difference, have fun!
© 2010-14 Copyright Sion Dayson ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,212 other followers

