Scattered Sunbeams

The sky before unleashing its rain, Hotel de Ville

Paris may be the world’s most beautiful city, even in the rain (some might go so far as to posit especially in the rain), but I gotta say: I want summer.

Let me paint you a portrait of a recent ‘summer’s night’ outing: dressed in long-sleeved shirt, sweater (yes, sweater), and scarf I make my way to the Hotel de Ville to hear Tricky perform as part of the FNAC Indetendances festival of music. (This was the last weekend; sorry folks).

Some people are dressed wistfully, in tanks and short skirts, willing the weather to cooperate. Most have realized that we are in a season more closely resembling fall, however, so jackets are in full display.

A menacing sky, but we will the rain to hold off for a bit. It does. Until it doesn’t. With the advent of a light sprinkle, we open our umbrellas, make the umbrellas dance. Several people jump onto the stage. (I believe this was a practical means of escaping the rain rather than anyone being overcome by the music. They conveniently exited the stage again once the rain stopped.)

A fine night, a fine night, but we are too much darting between raindrops, those of us left here in August. We try to slot ourselves in between scattered sunbeams this summer.

Rosa Bonheur at 4 PM

The day before the concert, I met up with fellow bloggers Res I(p)sa, An Alien Parisienne, and Paul of Paris Inspired at Rosa Bonheur in the beautiful Buttes Chaumont Park (my favorite park – I suggest to anyone visiting Rosa Bonheur to go near 4 PM as we did; such a relaxed pace before the crushing evening hipster crowd arrives – which is also fun, of course. Also how cute is it that Paris Karin and Paris Paul are a blogger couple?)

Rosa Bonheur at 8 PM

The weather confusion saw me in many layers, but by the time we settled in, the sun shone bright. Mid-August and I wear layers, I contemplate knee-high boots, turtlenecks. This just shouldn’t be. Even in Paris, where I forgive almost anything just to bask in her beauty, sometimes you just want a little warmth and light.

Today, Sunday, there are no breaks in the clouds, the rain falls heavy. It’s cold. A sweater and heavy socks kind of day (shall I remind you this is mid-August?)

Should be a good day to stay indoors, write, work. Should be…but I gaze longingly out the window and am distracted by how much I wish for the sun.

Bookmark and Share

21 Responses to “Scattered Sunbeams”


  1. 1 Elena August 15, 2010 at 5:48 pm

    I know! Brrr. The past two summers have been extremely cold here in Paris. Last week I was at my (unofficial) in laws’ and I ask them if they could fire up the fireplace – in August! But I was so cold I was practically trembling like a leaf.

    Next week it’s supposed to be sunny and warmer. Fingers crossed!

    • 2 paris (im)perfect August 16, 2010 at 1:20 pm

      A roaring fire sounds just about right. And that is simply wrong. August! I will hope that this weather forecast of sun and warmth is true. Right now it is Monday and still rainy, cold, gray. Come on, Paris, give an inch.

  2. 3 Geary August 15, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    The high in San Francisco was 56 degrees a few days ago, not much sun either in our foggy summers. Second visit to the Impressionist Exhibit from Musée d’Orsay. It was still crammed midweek in the morning so people here are thrilled with the opportunity. Had missed Renoir’s Boy with Cat on the first visit so was glad to see it this time. Great rendering of the cat, just the sort you would like to have curled up on the sofa.

    • 4 paris (im)perfect August 16, 2010 at 1:23 pm

      Hi Geary. Yes, I’ve heard San Francisco summers are cold; I visited once in June, I think it was, and definitely needed a sweater. What’s that saying? “The coldest winter I ever spent was a summer in San Francisco.”

      The thing is, Paris needs to have nice whether at some point, you know. I mean if fall is rainy and gray, winter is cold and gray, spring is rainy, and now summer is rainy and cold, too? This just won’t do.

      No one likes to hear you complain about Paris, I know. But I feel like we’re in monsoon season here; not what I signed up for :)

  3. 5 pariskarin August 15, 2010 at 10:12 pm

    I so enjoyed the time with you, Res I(p)sa, and Paul at the Rosa Bonheur, and weren’t those crowds that grew *insane*?!? But what great conversation we had. It was a really nice place to do so, and we chose a good time to do it (I’m also glad we did not get rained on, although it looked like it could do just that).

    This cool, wet month (and summer as a whole) has been a little difficult to deal with. I know this last winter seemed so long and so cold to me that I felt a little low in spirits as a result. I was looking forward to a nice thaw-out in summer. Instead, I find myself in my fall and winter jammies at night, contemplating putting the quilt back on instead of the lighter weight summer covers. *sigh*

    Now I am hoping for an “Indian Summer” in September where some warmth might rally! I guess these chilly wet days beat sweltering in a canicule, but I sure would like to have just a teensy but more of warmth before fall and winter are here again.

    • 6 paris (im)perfect August 16, 2010 at 1:25 pm

      May not be a popular opinion, but I prefer canicule (heat wave) to this. Honestly. As I said above, this is a friggin’ monsoon. It’s August and I’m wrapped up in my winter bathrobe. The winter *was* so hard. Is there really no reprieve?

      Glad we had such a good time at Rosa Bonheur and the weather gods held out for us. But yes, it was very, very iffy! Hence the many layers I brought (and was glad of as the day went on!)

  4. 7 pariskarin August 15, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    P.S. As to Paul’s and my being a cute blogger couple, I quote the Moldy Peaches in the song from the movie “Juno”: we sure are cute for two ugly people. :) He and I renewed out connection from our youth over four years ago because of blogging, so it is only appropriate that we continue to do it now, eh? ;-) Thanks for the props, Sion.

  5. 9 pariskarin August 15, 2010 at 10:20 pm

    P.S.S. on the fat fingers with “teensy but” —

    Well, I want that *too* (lol), but I meant to write “bit.” We have an AZERTY black keyboard where almost all of the white lettering is worn off the keys, heh! We’re working on getting a new one…

  6. 11 Paris Paul P August 15, 2010 at 11:46 pm

    Karin pretty much said it all, but it was nice to meet up with you guys! Hopefully all the good days aren’t all used up yet. Thanks for the shout out, Sion!

  7. 13 Sweet Freak August 16, 2010 at 9:35 am

    Back last night from Provence, where I enjoyed three days of summer (ah, sunshine and heat, I forgot what you did for the soul…).

    It was really beginning to come down when I exited the metro, and hasn’t let up since. I am cold to the bones. It is bleak outside my window. This is not summer, it’s an outrage! Hrmph.

  8. 15 Res August 16, 2010 at 1:00 pm

    I’m running off to New York to find the sunshine, only to learn that it’s started raining there…
    Looking forward to another catch up with you guys in “indian summer”!

  9. 17 PigletinFrance August 18, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    This summer has been exactly like the summers in the UK which I grew up with :( HORRIBLE!

    I spent last weekend at Aix Les Bains longing for the sun to come out so we could go out to play on the lake. Alas, it didn’t but is apparently sunny again today.

    Enough already! Sun please come back!

  10. 19 Delana August 26, 2010 at 7:46 pm

    Oh Sion…perhaps you should be coming to Provence rather than me coming to Paris. Sounds horrible. I have to say, though the winter was awful and we had a late spring, it rained….I think last week or the week before…for about 2 hours. It’s hot and the sky is blue and I imagine it will remain so for quite some time. I NEED the sun to keep that engine going all winter!

    • 20 paris (im)perfect August 26, 2010 at 8:01 pm

      Delana. Believe me, I should *definitely* be coming to Provence. As I sit here replying ot your comment, it is gray and rainy. Oh, August. Is this really how we will end summer?

      Really looking forward to meeting you in person, though! We’ll make Paris fun, anyway. Look for me in Provence maybe ’round October :)


  1. 1 Indian Summer « paris (im)perfect Trackback on September 5, 2010 at 9:53 pm

Leave a Reply

paris (im)perfect?

Sion Dayson is paris (im)perfect. Writer, dreamer, I moved to France on – no exaggerating – a romantic whim. As you can imagine, a lot can go wrong (and very right!) with such a (non)plan. These are the (im)perfect stories that result.

Share the love!

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,239 other followers

Follow parisimperfect on Twitter


easyJet Holidays Paris City Break
Expat Blog website
Expat Women website
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker
Worldette – Ignite your travel life, make a difference, have fun!
© 2010-14 Copyright Sion Dayson ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,239 other followers

