Existential French Cat

Hi y’all. I’ve entered the grad school fog; it’s throwing havoc on my blog posting schedule. So let me just set it straight: there is no schedule.

Instead, I take many mini-breaks in between the reading/writing/thinking/pacing/despairing/aha-ing and laughing at funny clips like this:

I’ve always loved cats. And been sort of jealous of their lifestyle. Of course, I’m just sitting around most of the day, too, but my back hurts, I’m battling carpal tunnel, and my writing may never see the light of day. So, I still think their version is better.

What if they felt the full emptiness of it all, though?

What if a cat, were, (gasp!) actually an existential French cat?

Note: Subtitles in the video. And the person narrating is not a native French speaker. FYI. Enjoy!

Bookmark and Share

10 Responses to “Existential French Cat”


  1. 1 Kind Reader July 27, 2010 at 5:18 pm

    Hmmm, what is this thing about writing, about making art…we work away at it day after day, infusing it with our heart and soul, all the while uncertain of its future in the world…I recently passed on some poems to a woman I know and she said she read them to her son who delighted in them. He was just becoming interested in sounds and words. I sat back and sighed and remembered that kind of thing makes it so worth while.

    I look forward to reading more of your heartfelt and inspiring writing.

    The video, ‘Henri’, really made me laugh and smile. Heartwarming. Peace…Holly.

    • 2 paris (im)perfect July 27, 2010 at 6:31 pm

      Thanks, Holly. Yes, writing is such a solitary act sometimes. But that story you just described is one of the many reasons we do it! So great.

      Really, that’s why blogging is so fun. I get all of you lovely visitors stopping by and talking to me. Thanks for being one of them!

      Now, back to the work… :)

  2. 3 Paris Paul P July 27, 2010 at 10:32 pm

    Hilarious! Karin and I loved this. The bad French accent just made it that much funnier.

    Good luck with the studies!

  3. 4 Viajera July 28, 2010 at 3:38 pm

    LOL! That is BEYOND funny! And it’s exactly how I see cats.

  4. 5 pariskarin July 28, 2010 at 5:48 pm

    Like Paul wrote up there, he showed this to me last night, and we really chuckled.

    Best as you keep plugging away! Schooling is not an easy thing to get through, but worth the results. :)

  5. 7 Sarah July 29, 2010 at 4:20 pm

    I love the piano music in this film, not to mention the film itself!! You don’t happen to know the name of the piece, do you?

    Hang in there with school – it will be all worth it! Your loyal blog followers will understand the sporadic posts!!

    Best…

    • 8 paris (im)perfect July 29, 2010 at 4:31 pm

      Hi Sarah! Thanks! I’m afraid I have no idea what the music is – I even went back to the original video, but it doesn’t say. (If anyone knows, feel free to chime in).

      Yes, I’m definitely hanging in with the school. It’s pretty fun (when it’s not torturous) as it’s writing. It’s a really nice break to blog and answer comments! :)

      • 9 Sarah July 29, 2010 at 4:40 pm

        Look at the positive side – you’re in Paris! I am fortunate enough to visit a couple of times a year, but you’re the luckiest!! Bon chance…


  1. 1 Happy Halloween from Henri the Existential Cat « paris (im)perfect Trackback on October 31, 2012 at 12:28 pm

Leave a Reply

paris (im)perfect?

Sion Dayson is paris (im)perfect. Writer, dreamer, I moved to France on – no exaggerating – a romantic whim. As you can imagine, a lot can go wrong (and very right!) with such a (non)plan. These are the (im)perfect stories that result.

Share the love!

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,212 other followers

Follow parisimperfect on Twitter


easyJet Holidays Paris City Break
Expat Blog website
Expat Women website
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker
Worldette – Ignite your travel life, make a difference, have fun!
© 2010-14 Copyright Sion Dayson ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,212 other followers

