Sun Daze

I don’t always succeed, but usually I try to share a somewhat focused story with you here, more than simply a random list of what I’ve been up to.

However, with the long-anticipated return of sunny warm weather (I was beginning to think my winter coat might become year-round attire) I just had to go out EVERYWHERE during this past 3-day weekend; dive into the city that’s come alive. No structured theme for me.

Suddenly stripping down to small tank tops and short skirts felt a bit strange. Maybe everything just strikes me as strange these days, surreal elements popping up all over Paris:

Treehouses sprouting on modern art museums,

The Pompidou's been planted with treehouses!

whole animals roasted in front of the Town Hall,

Vegetarians beware! Big BBQ at the Hotel de Ville!

a (4 million euro!) garden covering the Champs Elysees.

Not actually that exciting

(I’m no expert, but I think someone should consult me about proper use of municipal funds).

The heat made some people batty, characters came out in full force.

Put those clothes back on!

Get a load of that!

(Confession: These were actually actors in a play I ran across in front of Saint Sulpice. If you couldn’t tell from the photos, overacting was in full display).

Lobby of the Odeon Theater

I spied a few higher brow things, too, including the inside of the Odeon Theater. I just happened to be strolling with a theater historian at this moment (funny how that happens) whose specialty was theater from the ’68 era. The Odeon had been taken over in ’68 and became something of the protest’s headquarters in Paris, she explained. (Who knew?)

I had never even noticed the building before. I have this kind of Paris blindness sometimes. Though I never grow weary of the beauty of Paris, there are just so many famous historical buildings that I can’t even keep track. What’s that? A visitor might ask. Um, another gorgeous landmark, I reply.

As I lunched in front of Beaubourg, a man on a bike rode up and wished me ‘bon appetit.’

Thanks, I said.

You’re very pretty, too.

Thanks. (I’m very polite you see).

Ah, les hommes sont penibles, non?. Men are tiresome right?

Un peu. A little.

But you should take it as a compliment.

I went to hear honky tonk, also a surreal scene in Paris

Thanks. I did.

Parisians, we’re flirters.

Yes, you are.

He asked me for coffee, but I kindly declined. (I thought about asking him to offer me ice cream instead, but thought better of it).

It was a nice enough encounter – he did not insist (je ne insiste pas? he had asked hopefully before riding off).

Even the draguers seem charming with such beautiful weather. Everything, really, becomes a real pick-me-up. The city shines anew.

10 Responses to “Sun Daze”


  1. 1 Alison May 26, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    It’s incredible how much the sun can lift your spirits isn’t it? I fall in love with Belgium whenever the sun is shining (don’t ask how I feel on days like today when the rain is pouring down…)

    I love the tree houses on the Pompidou! I know it’s totally touisty and over-priced but I can’t NOT have a martini on their rooftop bar every time I visit the city. The view is so magical :)

  2. 2 paris (im)perfect May 26, 2010 at 2:07 pm

    Hey Alison. Yeah, I should have mentioned that it was pouring down rain yesterday and is still crappy today. I started this post yesterday, though, when the sun was still out! :) The sun is my number one medication. Everything is better when it’s sunny. (So yeah, don’t ask about my mood today!)

    Some touristy things are definitely worth doing. I actually have an annual pass to the Pompidou as much for the view as for the art. I think that’s a great Paris tradition you have there :)

  3. 3 Sweet Freak May 26, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    How great was this weekend?? Happiness, happiness, joy, joy!

    I was once told I had jolies jambes by a stranger. He was an amputee in a wheelchair, but I was still flattered…

    • 4 paris (im)perfect May 26, 2010 at 5:21 pm

      Yeah, really great! I need so little: sun + warmth = pretty much set. The fact that I’m in Paris to boot is just even more amazing! Hey, I would have been flattered by the nice legs comment, too. A compliment is a compliment :)

  4. 5 pariskarin May 26, 2010 at 7:42 pm

    You really do seem to have the very best serendipitous moments, Sion! I love the conversation between you and The Flirt (oh you SO should have asked for ice cream, lol!!). I loved the way you ran into the theater historian at the Odéon, too. That was interesting to know it was the HQ of the ’68 protests. I had no idea, either.

    We were at the Champs Elysées, too, this weekend, and while there was a bit of a yawn-factor with the whole garden thing, the fact that the avenue was closed and that much stuff was set up was pretty impressive. As were the crowds. LOTS of people.

    Those treehouses on the Pompidou look interesting, too. Any idea what’s up with that?

    Finally, I completely agree with the surreality of the sudden warmth in Paris, too. I was out with a friend on Saturday, and we really felt the same way, too.

    Be well, Sion. :)

    • 6 paris (im)perfect May 27, 2010 at 3:45 pm

      Hi Karin. Serendipity is one of my favorite words!

      So the treehouses on the Pompidou are a temporary installation. Read about from someone who knows more than me here: http://theartblog.org/2010/04/temporariness/ . Gosh, haven’t I gotten lazy. Can’t even blog or comment the details :) Well, I can at least give people a taste, right?

      We’re back to crappy weather, but hopefully won’t last long. My serendipitous moments do seem a bit dependent on the sun :)

  5. 7 PigletinFrance May 27, 2010 at 1:21 pm

    4M Euros to turn Les Champs into a garden? How crazy is that? I agree Sion, they should consult you first on public spending :)

    How strange about the tree house! I didn’t even notice it when I first looked at the picture!

    • 8 paris (im)perfect May 27, 2010 at 3:49 pm

      Yeah, I was kind of mad about the cost of the garden, actually. They had information there about being environmentally-friendly, yet they did this whole temporary installation for 3 days only, trucking in all of these plants and such (that quickly wilted and probably died in the sun). I mean, couldn’t 4 million euros have been used on an ACTUAL environmental IMPROVEMENT initiative or something? I’ll count on your support if I try to get a consultancy position :)

      Yeah, sorry about the photo. I took a few of the Pompidou treehouses, but either I got a closeup of the treehouse but you couldn’t really tell it was the Pompidou or far back but you had to strain to see the treehouse. I tried to put the treehouse in context – they’re all over the facade!

      • 9 PigletinFrance May 27, 2010 at 4:34 pm

        Hi Sion, don’t be sorry, I only glanced at the photo initially (before I’d read the text) and who would have been expecting to see a tree house in it anyway?? Its nice that your posts are always illustrated with lots of photos, I’m certainly not complaining :)

  6. 10 paris (im)perfect May 27, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    Thanks, Piglet. I know you’re not complaining! I use the word “sorry” too liberally, I think :) Thanks for being a loyal reader!


Leave a Reply

paris (im)perfect?

Sion Dayson is paris (im)perfect. Writer, dreamer, I moved to France on – no exaggerating – a romantic whim. As you can imagine, a lot can go wrong (and very right!) with such a (non)plan. These are the (im)perfect stories that result.

Share the love!

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,951 other followers

Follow parisimperfect on Twitter


easyJet Holidays Paris City Break
Expat Blog website
Expat Women website
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker
Worldette – Ignite your travel life, make a difference, have fun!
© 2010-14 Copyright Sion Dayson ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,951 other followers

