Trick or Treat

Thanks, everyone, for your supportive comments and amusing stories. An extra special shout-out to fellow blogger/writer and faithful reader Lydia who shared one of the funniest faux pas I’ve heard in awhile. Enjoy!

pumpkins

“It was Halloween. An English lady (near here) decided to decorate a pumpkin. She cut it out and lit tea lights inside it; it glowed and looked lovely. Very soon the doorbell rang and a small group of village children stood on the doorstep calling for a trick or treat.

She opened the door.

‘Ahh, les enfants, viens voir ma *poitrine*’ she cried.

The children backed off, confusion on their little faces.

‘Mais viens, ma poitrine, elle est tres belle, elle est tres grande!’ she insisted, beckoning them in, holding out a basket of sweets as a further incentive.

The children turned and fled.”

Can’t blame them, now can you? For those who need a little translation assistance:

Potiron=pumpkin
Poitrine=chest (breasts)

Easy to see how she mixed them up, but boy, does it make a difference!

“Come little children and look at my boobs! But come on, my breasts are very beautiful, and very big!”

Trick or treat indeed. As Lydia, said, “can’t imagine what the village parents thought when their children came home that night.”

Keep the faux pas coming, folks. Bon weekend!

Bookmark and Share

10 Responses to “Trick or Treat”


  1. 1 Alison May 14, 2010 at 12:12 pm

    Lol That’s fantastic!

  2. 2 Loulou May 14, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    That is hilarious!!!!
    I once messed up while trying to describe what was in an English trifle to our 80+ year old neighbors. I wanted to say that it consisted of whipped cream and alcohol, and twisted and mispronounced the words to say that it was whipped cream on my “ass.” Oops.

  3. 4 Loulou May 14, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    Heaven only knows! My Belgian friend, who speaks perfect English, was laughing his head off.

  4. 5 suki May 15, 2010 at 8:55 am

    Oh that is hilarious! :) Great story.

  5. 7 Res May 15, 2010 at 10:18 pm

    Hi Sion! Will you be going to the David Lebovitz event next week? Chocolate always cheers me up when I need it. I’m bringing my mother (who is equally short, we like to refer to ourselves as the bonsai family…). Will look out for you just in case!

    • 8 parisimperfect May 15, 2010 at 11:08 pm

      Hi there. Wow, I forgot all about that event, but I RSVP’ed to it. Thanks for the reminder! I’m very much in a ‘see how it goes’ phase, but I will go if I’m up for it. Definitely come up and say hi if you see me (you can see a photo of me under the “Stuff about Sion” post). You finding me might be easier than me trying to discern who qualifies as the bonsai family :) Maybe see you soon!

      • 9 Res May 17, 2010 at 10:59 pm

        Nice pics! There are some of me on the blog as well but very well hidden… I’m shy…
        Hope the sunshine is bringing a smile.

  6. 10 pariskarin May 17, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    Still cracking up at this one. :) I see it like a comedy sketch in my head. :D SNL does France — that kind of thing.

    Hope you had a good weekend.


Leave a Reply

paris (im)perfect?

Sion Dayson is paris (im)perfect. Writer, dreamer, I moved to France on – no exaggerating – a romantic whim. As you can imagine, a lot can go wrong (and very right!) with such a (non)plan. These are the (im)perfect stories that result.

Share the love!

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,250 other followers

Follow parisimperfect on Twitter


easyJet Holidays Paris City Break
Expat Blog website
Expat Women website
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker
Worldette – Ignite your travel life, make a difference, have fun!
© 2010-14 Copyright Sion Dayson ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,250 other followers

