Green Party

St. Patrick’s Day may not be a big deal in Paris, but I’m having my own little celebration. Sun, warmth, blue sky! How I thought you’d forsaken me, and yet here you all are again.

Oui, ça sent le printemps, remarked many people at the market today. Spring has finally arrived.

Verdant green hills and fields of blooming flowers. (Ok, there are no verdant green hills in Paris, but it’s so nice out there it feels like there could be). Picnics in the park, aperos by the canal – these things are possibilities again.

Life has officially recommenced.
Four Leaf Clover 068
I’m pleased to note that I had a St. Paddy’s-related article out this month. “From Ireland, with love” reviews a few contemporary Irish novels and appears in Today in English. (My original title “Good Reads from the Green Isle” got nixed, but I’m still quite fond of it).

A publication is always cause for celebration in my book, but this also serves as something of a milestone: it’s the first thing I’ve written that my husband can actually read.

You see, Today in English is a magazine geared towards French-speakers learning English, so the articles help with vocabulary, idioms, and grammar. It’s funny to see what words they pulled out to elaborate: “Keen insight”, “tenuous grip on reality”, “unrelenting”… “Whatever” (ah yes, a classic Americanism!).

I can see why Jerome had some trouble with it, but he made his way through. I’ve grown accustomed, but it is quite something when you think about it: one of my main identities is that of a writer and yet my husband can’t access that part of me.

He sees me pass hours behind the computer screen or curled up with books. Or in a huff, doing everything but writing, but berating myself for not. In short, he knows this is who I am – he just has no idea what I’m saying.

There are times I wish I could share this part of myself with him. Other times when having something so important of my own is a gift.

We’ve had to create our own common interests, things we can share, from scratch, in a language that sometimes only the two of us understand. It can be frustrating, but it’s also illuminating. Two people together always construct their own reality, their own private world. Ours is different than anything I might have imagined for myself, yet it is undoubtedly that: ours.

The Globe (78 / 365)

Other fun writing news: I found out yesterday that a flash fiction story I submitted to an anthology has been accepted. Hooray!

And for those of you who read this on email, I don’t think you had the link to a very nice review of this blog by A Taste of Garlic.

(Other note for email subscribers, the videos don’t seem to appear in emails. If you’re dying to hear some Indochine clips from yesterday, head on over to the blog!)

Ok, enough with the pats on the back. Now onto some….green beer? (Maybe not. After fantastic champagne, I really don’t think I could). Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Bookmark and Share

6 Responses to “Green Party”


  1. 1 PigletinFrance March 17, 2010 at 5:03 pm

    Happy St Patrick’s Day!

    How about Green Wine?

  2. 3 Delana March 17, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    Oh honey, I feel your pain. Recently at a party the subject of my blog came up and apparently everybody there, both French and American, had been reading it. When somebody asked my boyfriend what he thought about it, he had to say he doesn’t read it. And he was the ONLY one there who hadn’t. On the other hand, I like that it’s my private domain…well mine and everybody elses’s…except him! Love your blog! I found it through A Taste of Garlic.

    • 4 parisimperfect March 17, 2010 at 7:03 pm

      Hi Delana! Oh, I’m so pleased you found my blog. I’ve just been looking at yours and I have to say you’re wonderful! What a story. So glad you just picked up and moved to France – pourquoi pas? :) I agree about sharing the blog. Sometimes it’s a bit strange that my husband can’t read it, but on the other hand, it’s nice to have something that is mine. The upside of course is that you can write about your boyfriend on your blog then – he’ll never be the wiser! :) Thanks for reading!

  3. 5 pariskarin March 17, 2010 at 6:49 pm

    “Life has officially recommenced.”

    It feels so good, doesn’t it? :)

    Happy Saint Paddy’s to you… That is so cool that the article was published in the language learning mag. It’s interesting to see as an English language teacher.

    “one of my main identities is that of a writer and yet my husband can’t access that part of me.” I remember feeling this way with my first husband a lot. It really is a challenge of a multi-lingual couple to find what is in common… This is a *beautiful* way to put it:

    “Two people together always construct their own reality, their own private world. Ours is different than anything I might have imagined for myself, yet it is undoubtedly that: ours.” It’s really true for any couple, but especially so for a multi-cultural, multi-lingual one.

    Keep up the good writing work, m’dear. :)

    • 6 parisimperfect March 17, 2010 at 7:06 pm

      Hi Karin. Yes, it *does* feel great – I suddenly come alive when spring arrives!

      I know you totally get what I’m saying. Any couple creates their own universe, but it is especially true for a multicultural, multilingual couple. Indeed! It’s a challenge sometimes, but definitely interesting.

      Thanks so much for the encouragement! :)


Leave a Reply

paris (im)perfect?

Sion Dayson is paris (im)perfect. Writer, dreamer, I moved to France on – no exaggerating – a romantic whim. As you can imagine, a lot can go wrong (and very right!) with such a (non)plan. These are the (im)perfect stories that result.

Share the love!

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,115 other followers

Follow parisimperfect on Twitter


easyJet Holidays Paris City Break
Expat Blog website
Expat Women website
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker
Worldette – Ignite your travel life, make a difference, have fun!
© 2010-14 Copyright Sion Dayson ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,115 other followers

