Nothing but the Nylons

A post in honor of Keith over at A Taste of Garlic who gave my blog a wonderful review today. He did say I was missing a lingerie post, so here’s my version of one. Thanks, Keith!

It’s shaping up to be quite a week. I’m not sure if it’s because spring’s coming (it’s sunny, but still freezing!), but there’s a little friskiness in the air.

On the same day that I stumbled upon my interesting discovery at the library, Jerome also had a surprise as he walked back from his atelier (Jerome’s a metalsmith). Scene? Broad daylight, Rue de Pyrénées, a woman wearing no pants.

To be fair, he said, she was wearing pantyhouse and her underwear matched (both black, of course). They were not winter tights, however, but rather the thin, gauzy type that are nearly transparent.

Forgiving him for looking so closely (who wouldn’t?) I pressed for details. No pants? And no skirt, either? No, just the nylons, he insisted.

Was she wearing a coat? Yes, but a short and tiny one.

She must have been really cold, we agreed.

I wondered if she might be celebrating No Pants Day, but that’s in May. (And No Pants Subway Ride started in New York – miss you NYC – has already passed).

white shoes after Labor Day

To make the scene even more surreal, the woman was walking in the 20th, in a part of the neighborhood with a large Muslim population. It’s common to see women wearing a chador here. Quite a decalage.

“Is it even legal not to wear pants?” Jerome wondered. Nevermind the burqa debate in France, what about no bottoms?

The funniest part he said, was that the woman looked totally nonplussed, almost like she didn’t know why everyone was looking at her. “If a man walked around in public without pants, he would be arrested direct,” Jerome said.

Spring fever, you have plenty of takers this year…

Bookmark and Share

10 Responses to “Nothing but the Nylons”


  1. 1 Lindsey March 11, 2010 at 5:35 pm

    I would’ve paid to be there to see this!

  2. 2 parisimperfect March 12, 2010 at 1:41 am

    No need to pay – she was walking around like that for free! :)

  3. 3 Ange March 12, 2010 at 10:53 am

    Sion, I have just read most of your posts and am pleased I met you through Keith’s blog! I live in Toulouse now but spent 10 years in Paris hanging out between the 12th and the 5th and everywhere else in between I even joined the women’s humour writing group, and when I read your stories I giggle and remember the same ones we wrote along similar experiences! I still haven’t found a gyno I like and I’ve been here 15 years. They beat me down in the end and I had 3 kids. Love them more than anything now of course but it’s the whole COUNTRY that doesn’t understand that women don’t want kids – not just the gynaecologists. Anyway – I’ll be back, you really crack me up!!

    • 4 parisimperfect March 12, 2010 at 11:35 am

      Hi Ange. I’m so pleased you found me, too. I just checked out your blog – so inspiring! Change the World Wednesday – what a great idea! I am having a ball with this blog. It’s so funny, I’ve always counted myself as someone with a great sense of humor, but not particularly funny myself. It delights me to hear so many people get a good giggle out of my stories. Thanks for stopping by and I’ll definitely be stopping by yours, too! :)

  4. 5 pariskarin March 12, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    Whoa.

    That’s some no pants there. After my initial (silent, dumbfounded) shock, I am now LMAO!! I think that is the most hilarious thing I have seen in a while! All I can say to her is, “You go girl. Wear those no pants proudly and fly your freak flag high, chica!” Hee hee hee!

    I am going to head to Keith’s blog in a moment, but I want you to know I was so tickled to meet you last night at Elizabeth Bard’s book signing for Lunch in Paris. I am so glad you were able to go and I can’t wait to connect with you again very soon.

    Have a bon weekend, Sion!

    (Oh and I hope I get a chance to have another peek here later to see if we get a Friday language post! :) If not, I will catch up on Monday!)

    Karin

    • 6 parisimperfect March 12, 2010 at 4:57 pm

      Haha. Yeah, I was a bit hesitant to put the photo up, but I figured she chose to go out in public that way! (And it’s a creative commons photo, not mine). Uh-oh, now the blog has gone from semi-family-friendly to, as you say, flying the freak flag (my gosh, what a funny phrase!)

      Seriously, I’m just reporting what’s out on the streets, people :)

      It was lovely to meet you last night, too. That was a great reading, huh? I’ve just posted some more Friday faux pas – probably not going to help my risque image :)

      Have a great weekend!

  5. 7 Keith Eckstein March 13, 2010 at 10:14 am

    I always said… “They’re a funny lot; that lot in Paris!”

    Mind you…. that slight stirring in the nether regions of my long johns (Is it Spring? Time to change them for my summer pair, soon!) might indicate that we’re a funny lot too; us lot in Rural Brittany!


  1. 1 Faux Pas Friday: Nice Boules! « paris (im)perfect Trackback on March 12, 2010 at 4:48 pm
  2. 2 Spreading Rumors and Indecent Searches « paris (im)perfect Trackback on April 30, 2010 at 9:09 am

Leave a Reply

paris (im)perfect?

Sion Dayson is paris (im)perfect. Writer, dreamer, I moved to France on – no exaggerating – a romantic whim. As you can imagine, a lot can go wrong (and very right!) with such a (non)plan. These are the (im)perfect stories that result.

Share the love!

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,213 other followers

Follow parisimperfect on Twitter


easyJet Holidays Paris City Break
Expat Blog website
Expat Women website
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker
Worldette – Ignite your travel life, make a difference, have fun!
© 2010-14 Copyright Sion Dayson ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,213 other followers

