Kristin Espinasse: Of Bribes and Wine

Kristin Espinasse at Shakespeare & Co

Kristin Espinasse writes the popular French Word a Day blog, is a published Simon & Schuster author, yet remains humble and gracious beyond measure.

To think, she thought she needed a “bribe” to get booked at Shakespeare & Co! We would have come out just for her (though there’s no denying the audience appreciated the bribe: large quantities of her husband’s organic wines).

Kristin talked about how when you put your heart into something, it becomes universal. Her example was writing, but really it can be anything.

She must have looked around – a packed house on two levels, people crammed in every nook and cranny (of a bookstore where every nook and cranny seems already to be filled) – and seen that belief manifested.

Let’s raise a toast to our passions; they are the most precious things we own.

11 Responses to “Kristin Espinasse: Of Bribes and Wine”


  1. 1 Kristin March 2, 2010 at 6:06 pm

    Chère Sion,

    Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback from the Shakespeare & Company bookstore talk! I realized, while driving home today (back to our farm), that I had forgotten so many points that I wanted to share–about blogging and self-publishing. So I hope to be back soon… to “partage” the rest.

    It was lovely to meet you! I will be sending you a photo as soon as I can and checking back to your blog soon! Bonne continuation in all you do.

    • 2 parisimperfect March 2, 2010 at 6:17 pm

      Kristin! Thank you so much for stopping by my blog. That means a lot to me. It was such a pleasure meeting you – and if you left out a lot of points in your talk, you’ll just have to come back for round two. I’m a faithful reader of French Word-a-Day, so I’ll look forward to your stories. Bonne continuation!

  2. 3 Amanda March 2, 2010 at 9:31 pm

    Sounds like a great event! I am a huge French Word a Day fan, too– so happy to see you two sharing words side by side!

  3. 5 Kristin March 3, 2010 at 1:29 pm

    Thank you, Amanda! So nice, too, to be sharing comments “side-by-side” :-)

    Sion, I hope to come back soon for “round two”. Merci. And thanks again for writing about my talk. I’ve shared your column in today’s post:

    http://french-word-a-day.typepad.com/motdujour/2010/03/librairie.html

  4. 7 Ann March 3, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    What a lovely post! I, too, enjoyed Kristin’s talk and it was fun to meet you there, Parisimperfect. Looking forward to more blog posts.

  5. 9 Suzanne March 3, 2010 at 2:45 pm

    Kristi,
    Having walked through those crowded aisles on my first trip to Paris, and having spent some time with you last September in Privence, I can close my eyes and imagine the scene. Can’t wait for the video and also can’t wait to see Jean-Marc in Brooklyn next week and sip some Dentelle, Mistral, etc.

  6. 10 Candice March 3, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    Kristin,

    I was so disappointed that I wouldn’t be able to make it to your talk. I was in Paris last week and came home on Monday. How frustrating just one day can be! If only I booked my flight for yesterday instead!
    I will see your lovely husband in NY next week, and will certainly send you a hug via him.

    I’ve enjoyed reading these reviews of your visit to Shakespeare, and not surprised that every nook and cranny was filled with people wanting to hear you.

    Looking forward to being in the same city with you again one of these days……

    • 11 parisimperfect March 3, 2010 at 6:11 pm

      Hi Candice and Suzanne. Thank you for your warm comments to Kristin – I hope she will see them! The bookshop was indeed full to capacity with her fans. We’re all hoping she can return to Paris for round two soon! Thanks for stopping by. (P.S. I used to live in New York and miss it so! Show Jean-Marc a good time while he’s there :) )

      All best,

      -Sion


Leave a Reply

paris (im)perfect?

Sion Dayson is paris (im)perfect. Writer, dreamer, I moved to France on – no exaggerating – a romantic whim. As you can imagine, a lot can go wrong (and very right!) with such a (non)plan. These are the (im)perfect stories that result.

Share the love!

Bookmark and Share

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,114 other followers

Follow parisimperfect on Twitter


easyJet Holidays Paris City Break
Expat Blog website
Expat Women website
Protected by Copyscape Plagiarism Checker
Worldette – Ignite your travel life, make a difference, have fun!
© 2010-14 Copyright Sion Dayson ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,114 other followers

